Carr, Yoho Named Bulldogs of the Year

May 6, 2013

Photo Gallery

FRESNO, Calif. - On Monday night at the Satellite Student Union, junior Derek Carr and senior Dani Yoho were named "Bulldogs of the Year" during Fresno State Athletics' sixth annual "Night of Champions" Gala.

The top distinction went to Carr and Yoho for their commitment to Fresno State in all areas and set the standard for the true Bulldog experience. These individuals were selected because their athletic accomplishments, academic triumphs and community service work stood above all others.

The evening recognized all student-athletes for their academic achievements, athletic accomplishments and community service involvement during the 2012-13 academic year.

The first award of the evening, the Athletic Director's Community Service Award, went to the Bulldog softball team. They headlined the work of all 450 student-athletes who collectively donated more than 4,000 hours of service to the community during the past academic year. The softball team alone contributed over 1,000 hours of service to the San Joaquin Valley.

The next honors went to football's Davante Adams and softball's Jill Compton, who were honored as the recipients of the George Ilg Memorial Award for their academic and athletic achievement and service to the community.

The 2013 Thaxter Award, which honors outstanding members of student-athletic training staff, went to Sal Lopez, who recently accepted a graduate assistant position at the University of South Florida.

The Bill Kennedy Scholarship, in honor of the former Fresno State team doctor, was presented to Jodi Arreguin. She will work with women's tennis team next season.

In an annual award for overcoming injury, the athletic training staff presented the Paul Schechter Courage Award to women's basketball's Bree Farley and football's Phillip Thomas.

The next honors went to the conference team champions during the past year (2012 Baseball and Football, and 2013 Women's Basketball).

Student-athletes were then recognized as Individual Fresno State conference champions: Dani Yoho (50 freestyle), Jenia Sears (long jump), Meagan McKee (shot put and weight throw), and Latrisha Jordan (400M hurdles), Devin Harrison (long jump), Darian Hutson (high jump), Olivier Bernard (1500M), Justin Lovingood (triple jump) and the men's 4x400 relay (Brennen Davis, Remington Blair, Devin Harrison and Jordan Walker).

This year, the winners for the Bulldog Spirit Award were Diane Runge of the softball team and Derek Oliver from the track and field team.

The Harold Haak Memorable Moment Award recognized the best singular highlights or performances of the year, which honored Korrin Wild's dive over press row to save a rally in thrilling fashion and eventually win the point, and Robbie Rouse's school record-breaking run that made him in the top rusher in program history.

Fresno State closed the evening by honoring its senior class with scores graduating at the university's upcoming Commencement Ceremony on May 18.

"Discover Fresno State Athletics!" --- The annual event served as the largest awards ceremony to honor the collective achievements by Fresno State student-athletes.