Fresno State Wins WAC Cup
Fresno State wins the 2007-08 WAC Commissioner's Cup.
Fresno State wins the 2007-08 WAC Commissioner's Cup.

May 27, 2008

FRESNO, Calif. - After a season that saw four teams win WAC titles and six others finish in the top three of the conference standings, Fresno State claimed its first-ever Western Athletic Conference Commissioner's Cup.

The WAC awards its Commissioner's Cup to the school that performs the best in each of the conference's 19 men's and women's championships. Points are awarded in order of finish, equal to the number of teams that participate in each sport and are averaged between a team's regular season finish (if applicable) and its WAC championship finish. Ties are not broken but instead are averaged between the tied teams.

Fresno State edged Boise State for the WAC Commissioner's Cup on the strength of WAC championships won by the baseball, women's basketball, women's golf and women's tennis teams.

Two of those sports, women's basketball and women's golf, had never won the WAC before. The women's tennis team won its seventh straight WAC championship and the Bulldog baseball team won its third in a row.

In addition, the following sports finished either second or third in the league: football, soccer, men's tennis, men's golf, softball and women's track & field.

"Winning the Western Athletic Conference Commissioner's Cup is a tremendous accomplishment and represents the collective effort of hundreds of student-athletes, coaches and staff. We are proud that four Bulldog teams; women's tennis, women's golf, baseball and women's basketball, were all crowned WAC Champions. We are equally proud of all our teams that compete at the very highest level of the WAC and contributed heavily to capturing this prestigious honor," said Thomas Boeh, Director of Athletics.

Fresno State's previous best finish in the WAC Commissioner's Cup standings was in the 2004-05 year, when the Dogs were second. Fresno State has finished third each of the last three years.

This is the sixth year the WAC Commissioner's Cup has been awarded. Nevada won the 2006-07 WAC Commissioner's Cup.

2007-08 WAC Commissioner's Cup Standings
1. Fresno State, 89.25
2. Boise State, 86.00
3. Hawaii, 78.25
4. Nevada, 75.00
5. New Mexico State, 68.75
6. Utah State, 64.75
7. Idaho, 58.75
8. San Jose State, 50.75
9. Louisiana Tech, 45.50