Former 'Dogs Enshrined at Fresno Hall of Fame Dinner

Nov. 7, 2013

By: Matt Burkholder

FRESNO, Calif.– A very special night took place Thursday evening at the Fresno Convention Center as five former Bulldogs and the 1964 men’s track and field team was inducted into the Fresno Athletic Hall of Fame.

The 55th annual enshrinement dinner honored seven new inductees in all, as well as Bob Duncan, winner of the Harold Zinkin Sr. Award for his contributions to local athletics, and included a special tribute to the life of Pete Mehas.

The class of 2013 inductees who have left a legacy at Fresno State are:

Mike Martz:
Martz is a former Fresno State tight end and assistant coach. He played for the Bulldogs in 1972 when Fresno State played at Ratcliffe Stadium and later served as an assistant coach under Bob Padilla in 1978-79.

The former Bulldog got his first coaching position in 1973 at Bullard High in Fresno and moved up the ranks until he left his stamp on the National Football League as the offensive mastermind behind the Super Bowl Champion St. Louis Rams, “Greatest Show on Turf.”

In January 2012, Martz announced his retirement from the NFL and would later become an NFL game analyst for Fox Sports.

Tim Norris:
Norris, a Fresno native, played two seasons (1979-80) for the Fresno State golf team after transferring from Fresno City College.

The Bullard High graduate led the Bulldogs to a Big West Championship in 1979 as a junior and was named a second-team All-American. His senior campaign culminated with a second Big West Championship and first-team All-America honors. During his senior year he amassed a school record 71.89 stroke average that stands today as the No. 6 all-time mark at Fresno State. Norris was also named the Fresno State Athlete of the Year, and he would share Big West Athlete of the Year with Jay Don Blake in 1980.

Following his time at Fresno State Norris joined the PGA Tour, he debuted with a win at the 1980 California State Open and would go on to win three more tournaments – 1982 Greater Hartford Open, 1986 Spalding Invitational at Pebble Beach (highlighted by an opening round 64) and the1992 Sun Country PGA Championship at Santa Teresa, N.M. He recorded 10 top-10 tournament finishes on the PGA Tour before an injury to his right hand ended his playing career.

Norris would move on to be a successful NCAA coach, starting with a stint at UTEP (1990-97) where he took three teams to the NCAA Championships. Since then he has been with Kansas State and has turned the program into legitimate Big 12 and NCAA Regional contenders.

Jim Santos:
Santos is Fresno State graduate of the class of 1962 and has been an icon of the track and field coaching world. He was elected to the United States Track and Field Coaches Hall of Fame in 2005. In his career Santos has served budding athletes, international track and field stars and Special Olympians with the same passion. The pinnacle of his coaching career was in 1980 when he served as a coach on the U.S. Olympic men’s team overseeing the field events. He also served as a men’s coach of the 1983 U.S. Pan-American Team.

Julie Smith:
Smith, a three-time All-American, was a two-time All-American on the Fresno State softball team in 1990 and 1991. The Glendora native was also an All-American her freshman season at Texas A&M before she chose to move to back to the valley.

After a '91 campaign in which she hit .362 to lead the Bulldogs, she was named Fresno State's Female Athlete of the Year and selected to the NCAA's College Softball World Series All-Decade Team.

Arguably one on the best second basemen to ever play at the collegiate and international levels, her career highlight came in 1996 while playing for the U.S. team in Atlanta that won the gold medal. In addition to starting at second base for the United States during its gold medal Olympic run in '96, Smith also was a member of two World Championship teams and three Pan-American squads that earned gold medals.

Smith also was a six-time Amateur Softball Association All-American, winner of the ASA's Erv Lind Defense Award and a member of the 1987 Junior Women's World Championship team.

At the time of her induction, Smith was beginning her sixth season as head coach of the University of La Verne softball team and had led the Leopards to three NCAA Division III tournament appearances. Smith has also served as Senior Women's Administrator role and Assistant Athletics Director the past five years.

Omar Stoutmire:
One of the best defensive backs to ever play Fresno State football was Omar Stoutmire (1993-96). To this day Stoutmire still owns the record for most tackles in a career (458) and most tackles in a single season (198 -1997) at Fresno State. He was named to the All-WAC team as senior, and as a freshman he was named Fresno State’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

After an outstanding career as a Bulldog, Stoutmire was selected in the 1997 NFL Draft by the Dallas Cowboys. He would go on to an 11-year career in the NFL that included playing in Super Bowl XXXV for the New York Giants in 2001. Stoutmire played five seasons for the Giants, two seasons with Cowboys and two with the Washington Redskins, and had one-year stints with the Cleveland Browns, New York Jets and New Orleans Saints.

Following his NFL career, Stoutmire and his wife, Sheila, founded the North Texas Jackrabbits, a track and field program for youth between the ages of 7 to 18.

1964 Fresno State Track & Field team:
The first-ever national championship team at Fresno State was the 1964 track & field team. A team that came up short in 1963 with a second-place finish rose to the occasion a year later under Coach Dutch Warmerdam. Ratcliffe Stadium was pegged as the host site for the 1964 College Division Championships and a crowd of 4,000 showed up to cheer on the Bulldogs.

The team was powered by Sid Nickolas' victories in the long jump (26 feet) and 120-yard high hurdles (13.9 seconds), and third place in the triple jump; Darel Newman's victory in the 100-yard dash; Charles Craig's first place in the triple jump. Capped by a blistering, world-class performance from the victorious 440-yard relay team, the Bulldogs scored 87 points to outpace runner-up Long Beach State.

The NCAA and California Collegiate Athletic Association winning team:
Coach: Dutch Warmerdam; Manager: Larry Knuth; Members: Danny Thomas, Joe Herzog, Dennis Wombacher, George Koolery, Darel Newman, Marv Bryant, Phil Johnson, Marvin DeCarlo, Rick Dahlgren, Howard Biggers, Jim Nielsen, Pat Clark, Sid Nickolas, Duane Reidenbach, Bill Allen, Mike Elliott, Tom Poindexter, Sam Workman, John Frame, Charles Hulce, Charles Craig and Frank Pollock.

Tim Norris

Omar Stoutmire

Julie Smith

Jim Santos
Coaching/Track & Field

Mike Martz

1964 NCAA men’s championship track team

Bob Duncan
Zinkin Award

Pete Wilson
Powerlifting (No FS affiliation)