Former 'Dogs Honored At Annual Dinner
    Danny Muno took home two top honors at the dinner.
    Danny Muno took home two top honors at the dinner.

    Feb. 11, 2012

    Photo Gallery

    FRESNO, Calif. - Fresno State baseball held its Double Play Dinner Friday night at the Clovis Veterans Memorial District. The evening included the 2011 team awards, the presentation of the 2011 Western Athletic Championship rings and the induction of Jim Flores into the Wall of Fame.

    The Dugout Club auctioned off a variety of items at the event including a glove and baseball signed by Doug Fister. The former Bulldog led the Detroit Tigers to an American League Division Championship in 2011 and returned to show support to the current 'Dogs.

    For the first time in his nine years, head coach Mike Batesole distributed the team awards, describing the 2011 squad as one of the best he has coached.

    Senior Cody Kendall earned the Scholar-Athlete Award. A Kinesiology major, Kendall was one of three Bulldogs make the President's List in the fall semester. He has been named to the prestigious list twice during his collegiate career and the Dean's List five times.

    Junior Austin Wynns took home the Golden Glove Award for his performance at catcher. Wynn caught 14 of the 24 runners who attempted to steal last season. He led the team with a .993 fielding percentage after committing only three errors in 436 chances with 40 assists and three double plays.

    Greg Gonzalez and sophomore Aaron Judge were named Pitcher and Rookie of the Year, respectively. Gonzalez earned All-American honors after finishing the 2011 season with an 11-1 record and 1.79 ERA. He started all 16 games he appeared in and struck out 124 batters in 105.1 innings pitched. Gonzalez was WAC Pitcher of the Year and first-team All-WAC

    A 2011 Freshman All-American, Judge was also WAC Freshman of the Year and first-team All-WAC. He led all starters with a .358 batting average in 59 games played. Judge finished with 38 runs off 67 hits, including 12 doubles, one triple and two home runs. He had 30 RBI in 187 at bats and went 11-for-12 in stolen bases.

    Danny Muno was named the Most Valuable Player for 2011. Muno started every game of the season. He recorded 52 RBI off a team-high 71 hits. In 205 at-bats, Muno scored a team-high 47 runs.

    The Thousand Oaks, Calif. native rewrote the record books for Fresno State, appearing in nearly every category. Muno is the all-time program leader in career games (250), runs (251) and walks (213). He is the single-season leader in games (78) and walks (64). Muno is also second all-time in career hits (332), doubles (69) and at-bats (963). In honor of his stellar four-years at Fresno State, he received the Career Achievement Award.

    At the end of the night, Fresno State inducted Jim Flores into the Wall of Fame as the lone member of the 2012 class.

    Flores was on the 1979 and 1981 Northern California Baseball Association championship teams. The two-time All-NCBA shortstop was drafted by the Twins in 1981 after being named Fresno State's Most Valuable Player and earning the Golden Glove and Coaches Award his final season.

    "I am truly honored to be considered," said Flores. "My Fresno State experienced has shaped my life in so many positive ways."

    Flores joined the coaching staff from 1984-87 as a graduate assistant coach and was a part of two championship seasons and the Bulldogs brief transition to the Big West Conference in 1985.

    Alumni Weekend continues with the Alumni Game Saturday, Feb. 11 at 2 p.m.

    Fresno State opens the 2012 season at home against Butler on Feb. 17 at 6 p.m. Fans can purchase season and single-game tickets online or by calling the Bulldog Ticket Office at 559-278-3647.

    2011 Team Awards
    Career Achievement Award: Danny Muno
    Most Valuable Player: Danny Muno
    Pitcher of the Year: Greg Gonzalez
    Rookie of the Year: Aaron Judge
    Scholar-Athlete Award: Cody Kendall
    Golden Glove Award: Austin Wynns

    2011 Team Members Present
    Jake Alvarez
    Will Anderson
    Christian Belleque
    Justin Charles
    Sam Donald
    Gene Escat
    Taylor Garrison
    Trent Garrison
    Greg Gonzalez
    Justin Haley
    Thomas Harlan
    Patrick Hutcheson
    Aaron Judge
    Cody Kendall
    Tyler Linehan
    Chris Mallory
    Daniel Moultrie
    Jordan Mullins
    Danny Muno
    Josh Poytress
    Andy Qualls
    Jordan Ribera
    Dusty Robinson
    J.D. Salles
    Garrett Weber
    Kenny Wise
    Austin Wynns

    "We Are Your Team!" Check out the action on game day from AM 940 KYNO, the flagship station for Bulldog baseball. Follow us on Facebook (fresnostateathletics) and Twitter (@FSAthletics).



    More Headlines