Jordan Luplow Named MW Player of the Year
    Jordan Luplow is the first Bulldog to recieve Player of the Year honors since 2009
    Jordan Luplow is the first Bulldog to recieve Player of the Year honors since 2009

    May 21, 2014

    By: Matt Burkholder

    LAS VEGAS - The Mountain West announced Wednesday that Fresno State outfielder Jordan Luplow was named the MW Player of the Year and First-Team outfield selection, as voted upon by league coaches. Taylor Ward also garnered all-conference status as he was named the All-MW Second-Team catcher.

    Luplow set a Mountain West Conference record for juniors with a .470 batting average in league games, bettering the next best average in the conference this season by 0.95 ( Brad Gerig - .375).

    The Golden Spikes and Gregg Olson Award nominee also led the Mountain West with 54 hits, 14 doubles, 82 total bases, 22 walks, a .713 slugging percentage and .557 on base percentage, along with his .470 batting average in 30 conference games.

    Luplow, a Clovis, Calif. native, led his team in all but one offensive statistical category in 54 regular season games while starting in right field every game. He owns a .375 batting average overall, also best in the conference - it ranks No. 23 in the NCAA.

    Luplow is the first Player of the Year selection for Fresno State since Tom Mendonca was named the 2009 WAC Player of the Year.

    Ward, a sophomore from Indio, Calif,, was named All-MW Second-Team in his first season as a primary starter. Ward split time as a catcher and designated hitter throughout the season, but made his impact from behind the plate, starting 20 of 30 MW games at catcher. His conference batting average was .345, which ranked No. 10 in the conference. He had a.479 slugging percentage and .410 on base percentage to go with 25 RBIs, four home runs and 57 total bases - all marks that placed in the top-12 in the league.

    Ward was a two-time MW player of the week consecutive weeks running from Feb. 17 - March 2.



    Luplow and Ward will be recognized prior to first pitch of Wednesday's 7 p.m. game between Fresno State and Nevada.

    2014 All-Mountain West Baseball Team

    First Team

    C - Alex Real#, Jr. - New Mexico
    1B - Austin Byler, Jr. - Nevada
    2B - Tim Zier#, Sr. - San Diego State
    3B - Tyler France, So. - San Diego State
    SS - Sam Haggerty#, So. - New Mexico
    OF - Jordan Luplow, Jr. - Fresno State
    OF - Brad Gerig, Sr. - Nevada
    OF - Chase Harris, Sr. - New Mexico
    DH/Utility - Patrick Armstrong#, Sr. - UNLV
    SP - Bubba Derby#, So. - San Diego State
    SP - Erick Fedde, Jr. - UNLV
    SP - John Richy, Jr. - UNLV
    RP - Michael Cederoth#, Jr. - San Diego State

    Second Team

    C - Taylor Ward, So. - Fresno State
    1B - Morgan Stotts, Jr. - UNLV
    2B - Justin Jones, So. - UNLV
    3B - T.J. White#, Jr. - UNLV
    SS - Matt McCallister, Sr. - UNLV
    OF - Tyler Jones, Fr. - Air Force
    OF - Trenton Brooks, Fr. - Nevada
    OF - Kewby Meyer, Jr. - Nevada
    OF - Edgar Montes, Jr. - UNLV
    DH/Utility - Brad Haynal, Jr. - San Diego State
    SP - Cameron White, Sr. - Air Force
    SP - Josh Walker, Sr. - New Mexico
    SP - Kalei Contrades, Jr. - San José State
    RP - Colby Blueberg, Jr. - Nevada

    Player of the Year: Jordan Luplow, Jr., OF, Fresno State
    Pitcher of the Year: Erick Fedde, Jr., RHP, UNLV
    Freshman of the Year: Danny Collier, OF, New Mexico
    Coach of the Year: Tim Chambers, UNLV

    # - indicated 2013 All-MW selections

    All selections were bases upon Mountain West games only.

    "Catch the Wave" - The official home of the Fresno State Bulldogs is 940 AM ESPN Radio.

    More Headlines