Luplow Named Golden Spikes Award Semifinalist
Jordan Luplow, MW Player of the Year, is the conference's sole selection on the Golden Spikes Award semifinalist list.
Jordan Luplow, MW Player of the Year, is the conference's sole selection on the Golden Spikes Award semifinalist list.

May 27, 2014

By: Matt Burkholder

DURHAM, N.C.- USA Baseball announced on Tuesday that Fresno State outfielder Jordan Luplow has been named a semifinalist for the 37th annual Golden Spikes Award. The committee narrowed its search to 21 semifinalists that recognizes the top amateur baseball player in the U.S.; the next announcement will name three finalists on June 3.

Fan voting will once again play a part in the selection of the three Golden Spikes Award finalists, the top three players to receive the most fan votes will each receive one vote as it applies to the Golden Spikes Award voting committee that consists of about 200 members - contributing voters include media representatives that closely follow the amateur game, past USA Baseball national team coaches and press officers, representatives from the MLB scouting community, select USA Baseball staff members and the 36 previous winners of the Golden Spikes Award.

With this announcement, it marks the beginning of the voting process. Voting will be open until Friday, May 30 at 2 p.m. PT. Fans should visit to vote and follow along as the semifinalists are narrowed to three finalists to be named on June 3.

The reigning 2014 Mountain West Player of the Year's season came to a close on May 23 on day three of the 2014 Mountain West Baseball Championship Tournament. After 57 games, Luplow's season concluded with a .377 batting average, 81 hits, 48 RBI, 21 doubles, nine home runs, 10 stolen bases, a .609 slugging percentage and .475 on base percentage - leading the Bulldogs in every statistical category. The junior outfielder is the only selection from the MW conference.

"It's a great honor to be named a semifinalist," said Luplow. "I give all the thanks to my teammates, coaches, family and fans for the support throughout the season."



The last Bulldog to be named a Golden Spikes Award semifinalist was Greg Gonzales in 2011, a list that consisted of 30 semifinalists.

Last year, University of San Diego infielder, Kris Bryant, took home the prestigious award, joining a group of recent winners that includes Mike Zunino (2012), Trevor Bauer (2011), Bryce Harper (2010), Stephen Strasburg (2009) and Buster Posey (2008).

Other past winners of the Golden Spikes Award include Terry Francona (1980), Will Clark (1985), Robin Ventura (1988), Jason Varitek (1994), J.D. Drew (1997), Mark Prior (2001), Jered Weaver (2004), Tim Lincecum (2006) and David Price (2007).

Important 2014 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award dates include:
Friday, May 30: Deadline to vote for finalists, 2 p.m. PT
Tuesday, June 3: Finalists announced; finalist voting begins; voters to select one
Friday, June 13: Deadline to vote for winner, 2 p.m. PT
Thursday, July 17: Golden Spikes Award presentation

The complete 2014 Golden Spikes Award semifinalist list is as follows:
Aaron Brown, OF/LHP, Junior, Pepperdine
Michael Conforto, OF, Junior, Oregon State
Tyler Davis, RHP, Junior, Washington
Chris Ellis, RHP, Junior, Mississippi
Kyle Freeland, LHP, Junior, Evansville
Casey Gillaspie, IF, Junior, Wichita State
Daniel Gossett, RHP, Senior, Clemson
Matt Imhof, LHP, Junior, Cal Poly
Connor Joe, IF, Junior, San Diego
Michael Katz, IF, Junior, William & Mary
Nathan Kirby, LHP, Sophomore, Virginia
Jordan Luplow, OF, Junior, Fresno State
Andrew Morales, RHP, Senior, UC Irvine
Michael Murray, RHP, Sophomore, Florida Gulf Coast
Aaron Nola, RHP, Junior, Louisiana State
Max Pentecost, C, Junior, Kennesaw State
Josh Prevost, RHP, Senior, Seton Hall
A.J. Reed, LHP/IF, Junior, Kentucky
DJ Stewart, OF, Sophomore, Florida State
Sam Travis, IF, Junior, Indiana
Drew Weeks, OF/IF, Junior, North Florida

About the Golden Spikes Award
Since 1978, USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseball player in the country with the Golden Spikes Award. Following the first-ever presentation of the Award to Bob Horner of Arizona State, the Golden Spikes Award has been presented each year to the player who exhibits exceptional athletic ability and exemplary sportsmanship. The 2012 Golden Spikes Award winner was Mike Zunino of the University of Florida. Past winners of this prestigious award include current Major League Baseball players such as Bryce Harper ('10), Stephen Strasburg ('09), Buster Posey ('08), David Price ('07), Tim Lincecum ('06), Alex Gordon ('05), Jered Weaver ('04), Rickie Weeks ('03) and Mark Kotsay ('95). Former Major League stars that have captured the award include Pat Burrell ('98), Robin Ventura ('88), Jim Abbott ('87), Will Clark ('85), Dave Magadan ('83), Terry Francona ('80), Tim Wallach ('79), and Horner ('78). For more information, please visit Fans can follow the Golden Spikes Award on Twitter @USAGoldenSpikes.

About USA Baseball
USA Baseball is the national governing body for the sport of baseball in the United States and is a member of the United States Olympic Committee and the World Baseball Softball Confederation. The organization selects and trains the World Baseball Classic, World Cup and Pan Am teams (and all other USA Baseball Professional Teams); the USA Baseball Collegiate National Team; the USA Baseball 18U, 15U and 12U National Teams; and the USA Baseball Women's National Team, all of which participate in various international competitions each year. USA Baseball also presents the Golden Spikes Award annually to the top amateur baseball player in the country. For more information, please visit

"Catch the Wave" - The official home of the Fresno State Bulldogs is 940 AM ESPN Radio.

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format