Luplow Named "Breakout Player of the Year" Semifinalist

May 30, 2014

By: Matt Burkholder

FRESNO, Calif. - Fresno State junior outfielder Jordan Luplow has been named a semifinalist for the 2014 Gregg Olson Award presented by Toolshed Sports, as announced by the organization. The recipient of the award honors college baseball's "Breakout Player of the Year." Luplow is one of 36 semifinalists to be named on Friday, narrowed down from the initial 83-man watch list announced on May 13.

The reigning 2014 Mountain West Player of the Year's season came to a close on May 23 on day three of the 2014 Mountain West Baseball Championship Tournament. After 57 games, Luplow's season concluded with a .377 batting average, 81 hits, 48 RBI, 21 doubles, nine home runs, 10 stolen bases, a .609 slugging percentage and .475 on base percentage - leading the Bulldogs in every statistical category.

Luplow is the only player of the 36 in the running for the award to represent the Mountain West Conference.

The Olson Award was created to honor college baseball's success stories and showcase players like Gregg Olson, who raised the level of his game through hard work, strength of mind and determination. Eligible players are those who are omitted from major publication's preseason All American prognostications; however by the end of the season their on the field performance will demonstrate that they are among the top amateur baseball players in the nation.

Finalists are scheduled to be announced on Friday, June 6th at the beginning of Super Regional action. The winner of the 2014 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Nebraska during the College World Series which is to be held this season at TD Ameritrade Park from June 15-June 25/26. 2014.

For more information visit



Will Allen - Ole Miss (C)
Cody Boutte - Louisiana (P)
Taylor Clarke - College of Charleston (P)
Shawn Clowers - Liberty (P)
Jace Conrad - Louisiana (2B)
Andy Cox - Tennessee (P)
Zac Curtis - Middle Tennessee (P)
Andro Cutura - Southeast Louisiana (P)
Tyler Davis - Washington (P)
Montana Durapau - Bethune-Cookman (P)
Mike Franco - Florida International (P)
Kyle Freeland - Evansville (P)
Casey Jones - Elon (IF/OF)
Scott Kingery - Arizona (OF)
Nathan Kirby - Virginia (P)
Brandon Koch - Dallas Baptist (P)
Ryan Koopman - Campbell (P)
Jacob Lindgren - Mississippi St. (P)
Jordan Luplow - Fresno State (OF)
Chase Mallard - UAB (P)
Sam Moore - UC Irvine (P)
Tyler Neslony - Texas Tech (OF)
Connor Owings - Coastal Carolina (IF/OF)
Max Pentecost - Kennesaw St. (C)
Rohn Pierce - Canisius (P)
DJ Ruhlman - Seton Hall (SS)
Scott Schaub - Jacksonville (3B)
Ryan Seiz - Liberty (2B)
Eric Skoglund - UCF (P)
Andrew Stevenson - LSU (OF)
Jake Stinnett - Maryland (P)
Matt Warren - Creighton (P)
Drew Weeks - North Florida (OF)
Ryan Williams - East Carolina (P)
Nic Wilson - Georgia St. (1B)
Brian Wolfe - Washington (OF/1B)

"Catch the Wave" - The official home of the Fresno State Bulldogs is 940 AM ESPN Radio.

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format