Susdorf and Melloh Named Athletes of the Year
    The freshman pitcher shocked the softball world and broke numerous records.
    The freshman pitcher shocked the softball world and broke numerous records.

    July 2, 2008

    FRESNO, Calif. - After leading the Bulldog baseball team to its' first-ever NCAA National Title, senior Steve Susdorf was named the men's Athlete of the Year by the local media. The female honoree is Morgan Melloh, a left handed pitcher for the softball team. Both of these student-athletes led their respective teams to historic seasons.

    Susdorf was drafted by the Detroit Tigers after his junior year but decided to return to Fresno State and became one of the most decorated athletes to ever sport a Bulldog uniform. He was the 2008 WAC Player of the Year and was also named to the WAC All-Tournament, All-West Region, NCAA Tournament All-Regional and the CWS All-Tournament teams.

    He leaves Fresno State as the all-time career leader in RBI's with 216. Susdorf also ranks in the top 10 in home runs, doubles, hits and runs scored. Susdorf, a civil engineering major, was also an Academic All-American.

    Susdorf is the 13th baseball player to be named Athlete of the Year since the men's award began in 1958.

    The next stop for Susdorf, the Philadelphia Phillies of MLB as he was drafted in the 19th round.

    Other male athletes nominated: Kevin Bell, Basketball; Grant Doverspike, Golf; Marcus Riley, Football; Fran Sanders, Track and Field; Rudy Siwy, Tennis.

    Melloh, a freshman from Fishers, Ind., led the Bulldog softball team back into the top 10 rankings in the coaches polls and to a 54-13 record, the teams best since 1999. She shocked the softball world as she was named the WAC Freshman and Pitcher of the Year, a first-team Easton All-American and a second-team NFCA All-American.

    She broke four school single-season records including appearances (59), wins (42), innings pitched (360.1) and strikeouts (454). She also ranks in the top 10 in complete games (44), games started (46), strikeouts per 7 innings (8.82), shutouts (20) and saves (3)

    Another very impressive feat in her first year, Melloh ranks in the top 20 in the NCAA in a single-season in appearances (59), complete games (44), innings pitched (360.1) and victories (42).



    She is the 18th Bulldog softball player to earn this award for females since it began in 1982.

    Other female athletes nominated: Sharon Ayala, Track and Field; Melanie Gloria/Tinesta Rowe, Tennis; Laura Luethke, Golf; Alisha McKee, Volleyball; Lisa Wells, Equestrian; Tierre Wilson, Basketball.

    Past Fresno State Athletes of the Year

    Year Male Female
    2008Steve Susdorf, BaseballMorgan Melloh, Softball
    2007Dwayne Wright, FootballMelanie Gloria, Tennis
    2006Christian Vitters, Baseball Katharina Winterhalter, Lucia Sainz, Tennis
    2005 Logan Mankins, Football Jamie Southern, Softball
    2004 Richie Robnett, Baseball Jelena Pandzic, Tennis
    2003 Nick Watney, Golf Chloe Carlotti, Tennis
    2002 David Carr, Football Jamie Southern, Softball
    2001 Stephen Abas, Wrestling Becky Witt, Softball
    2000 Courtney Alexander, Basketball Amanda Scott, Softball
    1999 Stephen Abas, Wrestling Dora Djilianova, Tennis
    1998 Jeff Weaver, Baseball Amanda Scott, Softball
    1997 Giuseppe Chiaramonte, Baseball Robyn Yorke, Softball
    1996 Fredrik Bergh, Tennis Nina Lindenberg, Softball
    1995 Gerry Abas, Wrestling Robyn Yorke, Softball
    1994 Trent Dilfer, Football Maureen Brady, Softball
    1993 Lorenzo Neal, Football Kim Maher, Softball
    1992 Gerell Elliott, Soccer Terry Carpenter, Softball
    1991 Bobby Jones, Baseball Julie Smith, Softball
    1990 Ron Cox, Baseball Martha Noffsinger, Softball
    1989 Tom Goodwin, Baseball Yvette Roberts, Basketball
    1988 Lance Shebulut, Baseball Melanie Parrent, Softball
    1987 Doug Fraley, Track; Kevin Sweeney, Football Wendy Martell, Basketball
    1986 Doug Fraley, Track Melanie Parrent, Softball
    1985 Doug Fraley, Track Ruth Lawanson, Volleyball
    1984 John Hoover, Baseball Renee Wyckiff, Track
    1983 Henry Ellard, Football Wende Ward, Softball
    1982 Rod Higgins, Basketball Wende Ward, Softball
    1981 Matt Mileham, Track
    1980 Tim Norris, Golf
    1979 Vince Petrucci, Football
    1978 Dean Jones, Football
    1977 Steve Campbell, Track
    1976 Art Ruble, Swimming
    1975 Mike Giroux, Track
    1974 Roger George, Track
    1973 Mark Hance, Baseball
    1972 Jerry Pender, Basketball
    1971 Dick Ruthven, Baseball
    1970 Erkki Mistakari, Track
    1969 Tim McCall, Football
    1968 Mike Gallego, Wrestling
    1967 Larry Gonsalves, Baseball; Mike Gallego, Wrestling
    1966 Lonnie Hughes, Basketball
    1965 Dale Messer, Football
    1964 Beau Carter, Football
    1963 Eddie Davies, Wrestling
    1962 Bobby Paull, Baseball
    1961 Dale Messer, Football
    1960 Joel Spinola, Golf
    1959 Gary Alcorn, Basketball
    1958 Angel Robinson, Track

    More Headlines