WAC Recognizes 33 Bulldogs in Classroom
Kendall VanDine was one of 33 Fresno State student-athletes from the fall sports named Academic All-WAC on Wednesday
Kendall VanDine was one of 33 Fresno State student-athletes from the fall sports named Academic All-WAC on Wednesday

Jan. 17, 2012

DENVER, Colo. - The Western Athletic Conference announced Tuesday the 2011 Academic All-WAC teams for the fall sports of men's and women's cross country, football, soccer and volleyball and Fresno State had 33 student-athletes honored by the league.

The men's cross country team had five honorees, the women's cross country had six selections, football had 10, soccer had five and volleyball had seven.

For the women's cross country team, its six honorees are the most the program has had since 2004. The men's five honorees tie with the 2009 team for the most in the past five seasons.

This was the second-straight season the Bulldog volleyball team had seven honorees, which are its most since eight were honored in 2006.

For the seventh-straight season, the Fresno State football team had 10 or more student-athletes received Academic All-WAC recognition. No other team in the conference has had 10 or more honorees over the past seven years.

Kendall VanDine, who was named a 2011 Capital One CoSIDA Academic All-American, led the five soccer players on the Academic All-WAC list.

To be eligible, a student-athlete must have completed at least one academic year, have at least a 3.0 cumulative grade point average and have participated in at least 50 percent of the team's contests.

"We Are Your Team" - You can always stay connected with Fresno State Athletics on Facebook (fresnostateathletics) and Twitter (@FSAthletics).


Men's Cross Country
Eric Battles, Sr.
Olivier Bernard, Jr.
Carson Keller, Jr.
Kevin Poythress, So.
Paul Zwama, Sr.

Women's Cross Country
Saylah Barserian, So.
Stevie Brumwell, Sr.
Pamela Cruz, Sr.
Kristen Galvez, So.
Marrijtje Molenhuis, Jr.
Ann Poythress, Sr.



Riley Barnes, So.
Ryan Boschma, Jr.
Derek Carr, Jr.
Tyeler Davison, So.
Kevin Goessling, Sr.
Bryce Harris, Sr.
Zak Hill, Sr.
Marcel Jensen, Jr.
Andrew Shapiro, Jr.
Bobby Shepard, Sr.

Vanessa Gonzalez, Jr.
Kayla Kret, So.
Megan Mossman, So.
Molly Nizzoli, Sr.
Kendall VanDine, Sr.

Cecilia Agraz, Jr.
Lauren Albertson, Jr.
Barbara Alcantara, Jr.
Alysia Baker, Sr.
Brianna Clarke, Sr.
Kristen Sciacca, So.
Korrin Wild, So.

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format