Four Bulldogs Headed to Super Bowl

    Jan. 23, 2012

    FRESNO, Calif. - Four Fresno State alums, Bear Pascoe and David Carr of the New York Giants and Logan Mankins and Ryan Wendell of the New England Patriots, are headed to Super Bowl XLVI on Sunday, Feb. 5 from Indianapolis, Ind.

    Fresno State's four alums on the active rosters of the AFC and NFC Championship teams tie for the second most from any school in the nation behind the five alums from Boston College.

    This will be the first Super Bowl appearance for both Carr and Pascoe along with Wendell. For Mankins, who was voted a starter for the Pro Bowl, this will be his second appearance in the title game, as he started at left guard for the Patriots in Super Bowl XLII.

    The four are the first Bulldogs to reach the Super Bowl since the 2008 season, when Bryan Robinson and Stephen Spach helped lead the Arizona Cardinals to Super Bowl XLIII.

    Derrick Ward, who was a freshman All-American at Fresno State in 1999, was the last Bulldog to win a Super Bowl, doing so with the New York Giants in Super Bowl XLII on Feb. 3, 2008. In all, 16 Fresno State alum have reached the Super Bowl and five have won it.

    Pascoe caught his first career touchdown in the NFL on Sunday, helping the Giants top the San Francisco 49ers 20-17 in overtime of the NFC Championship game. His six-yard TD in the second quarter put the first points on the board for New York and it came on what was his first career postseason catch.

    Mankins started at left guard for the Patriots in their 23-20 victory over Baltimore Ravens in the AFC Championship game.

    Super Bowl XLVI kicks off at 3:20 p.m. PT from Lucas Oil Stadium on Feb. 5 and the game is being televised on NBC.



    "We Are Your Team" - The flagship radio station of Fresno State Football is KMJ 580 AM.

    More Headlines