Mountain West Spotlight: Hawai'i

June 30, 2012


Hawai'i Quick Facts
Location: Honolulu, Hawai'i
Founded: 1907
Enrollment: 20,000
Chancellor: Virginia S. Hinshaw
Athletic Director: Jim Donovan
Colors: Green, Black, White, Silver
Nickname: Warriors

Hawai'i Warriors
Hawai'i Campus
Aloha Stadium
Head Coach Norm Chow
DL Paipai Falemalu

Aloha-StadiumUH-logo Hawai'i Warriors

Hawai'i officially joins the Mountain West on July 1, 2012 like Fresno State and Nevada, but Hawai'i is joining as a football member only.

Home Venue:
• Aloha Stadium (50,000)

Top Athletes:
• Davone Bess, NFL player
• Colt Brennan, former NFL player
• Jason Elam, former NFL player
• Ashley Lelie, former NFL player
• Vince Manuwai, NFL player
• Matt McBriar, NFL player
• Isaac Sopoaga, NFL player

Shining Moments:
• The 2007 team completed a perfect 12-0 regular season to secure the school's first appearance in a BCS game, the 2008 Allstate Sugar Bowl. Hawai'i, which was ranked No. 10 nationally going into the Sugar Bowl, fell to No. 4 Georgia.
• In 2004, former quarterback Timmy Change became the nation's all-time career leader in passing yards (17,072).
• Former quarterback Colt Brennan broke or tied 31 NCAA records upon completion of his three-year career. He was a two-time WAC Offensive Player of the Year (2006 & 2007).

Interesting Tidbits:
• 1920 - The College of Hawaii becomes the University of Hawaiʻi and the football team plays its first intercollegiate game against Nevada, losing 14-0 on Christmas Day.
• 1942 - Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor and the United States' entry into World War II, Hawaiʻi cancels the 1942, 1943, 1944 and 1945 football seasons.
• 1955 - A year after suffering a 50-0 blowout loss to Nebraska in Honolulu, the Rainbows go up to Lincoln the following season and upset the Huskers 6-0. The win is considered one of the school's all-time biggest upsets.
• 1961 - The UH Board of Athletic Control votes to abolish the football program due to a lack of finances. The program would return to intercollegiate competition the following year behind the urgings of new athletics director Young Suk Ko.
• 1975 - 50,000-seat Aloha Stadium becomes the new home of Hawaiʻi football.
• 1982 - Dan Audick becomes the first Warrior to have graduated from the university and to have started for a Super Bowl champion. Audick played for the San Francisco 49ers in Super Bowl XVI.
•1990 - The Rainbow rout BYU, 59-28, on December 1. Earlier that day, BYU quarterback Ty Detmer won the Heisman Trophy.

Fresno State-Hawai'i, Series History
First Meeting: 1938 in Fresno, Calif. (FS 15, UH 13)
Series Record: Fresno State leads, 22-21-1

Fresno State-Hawai'i - Last Meeting: Nov. 19, 2012
Derek Carr threw for 271 yards and two scores to lead Fresno State to a 24-21 win over Hawai'i at Aloha Stadium.

The Bulldogs scored the game's first 17 points, then allowed 21-straight by the Warriors before scoring the game-winning touchdown early in the fourth quarter to snap a three-game losing skid.

Carr completed 19 of 29 attempts with no interceptions. Robbie Rouse rushed for a season-high 176 yards for Fresno State, which scored on its first three drives.

The Warriors took the lead with 6:28 remaining in the third quarter on Graves' 69-yard touchdown pass to Billy Ray Stutzmann.

Two plays into the fourth quarter, Carr hooked up with Josh Harper on a 43-yard scoring strike that proved to be the game winner. Harper beat the cornerback on the post route and Carr's pass was just out of the reach of the leaping safety.



 Email this article   Printer-friendly format