Carr, Smith Added to Preseason Award Watch Lists

July 8, 2013

By Jason Clay

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. -The Maxwell Football Club rolled out the preseason watch lists for the 2013 Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Awards on Monday and Fresno State quarterback Derek Carr and safety Derron Smith were included on the respective lists.

Carr is one of 76 players in the country that was named to the watch list for the 77th annual Maxwell Awards, which has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937.

Smith was one of 75 players named to the watch list for the 19th annual Bednarik Award that has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995.

Carr enters his senior season with a lot of hype surrounding his named after being named the 2012 Mountain West Offensive Player of the Year and earning All-America honors last season. He threw for a MW record 4,104 yards in 2012 and had 37 touchdown passes against only seven interceptions. His 37 TDs last year are tied for the most by any returning quarterback in the FBS.

Smith, a junior, was a first-team All-Mountain West selection in 2012. He tied for fifth nationally last season with six interceptions, recording 127 yards on returns and one touchdown. He was the team's second-leading tackler with 79 stops and helped Fresno State's defense rank second nationally in pass defense, third in interceptions and fifth in turnovers gained.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced Oct. 29, while the three finalists for each award will be unveiled Nov. 18. The winners of the 2013 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 12.

The Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football.



The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2012 preseason watch list calendar:

Mon., July 9: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award
Tue., July 10: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy
Wed., July 11: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award
Thurs., July 12: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy
Fri., July 13: Jim Thorpe Award
Mon., July 16: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award
Tue., July 17: Biletnikoff Award
Wed., July 18: Davey O'Brien Award
Thurs., July 19: Doak Walker Award
Fri., July 20: Walter Camp Award

"Discover Fresno State Football" - 2013 Fresno State football season tickets are now on sale and can be ordered online at or over the phone at 559-278-DOGS (3647). The official home of the Fresno State Bulldogs is 940 AM ESPN Radio.

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format