Ejiro Ederaine Named to CFPA Linebacker Watch List
    OLB Ejiro Ederaine
    OLB Ejiro Ederaine

    July 8, 2014

    By Jason Clay

    DAVIDSON, N.C. - The College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) has named Fresno State outside linebacker Ejiro Ederaine to its 2014 Linebacker Trophy watch list.

    Ederaine, a junior outside linebacker, is one of 40 players named to the preseason watch list that also featured a total of six players from the Mountain West.

    The 6-3, 221-pound Corona, Calif. native is coming off his sophomore campaign where he received second-team All-Mountain West accolades after tying for 17th in the FBS with 10 sacks. Ederaine also recorded 16.5 tackles for a loss, which tied for the sixth-most in school history and ranked 27th nationally.

    Ederaine had 63 total tackles in 2013 to rank fifth on the team. He was named the Mountain West Defensive Player of the Week on Oct. 28 after he posted a career-high 11 tackles, 4.5 tackles for a loss, two sacks, one forced fumble and one fumble recovery that he returned 78-yards for a touchdown in a victory over San Diego State. That is the longest fumble return in school history.

    He becomes the second Bulldog this summer to be named to one of CFPA's preseason watch lists. Derron Smith was announced on the Defensive Back of the Year Trophy watch list last week.

    The CFPA enters its seventh season of player and team performance recognition, Fresno State has had two of its players earn an honor in back-to-back years - Phillip Thomas (2012 Defensive Back Trophy) and Derek Carr (2013 Elite Quarterback Trophy).

    About College Football Performance Awards:
    The goal of College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. As prominent scholars from a wide variety of disciplines note, CFPA eliminates the politics and biases that vitiate balloting-based awards. Furthermore, CFPA has received praise from both Republican and Democratic White House officials for promoting objectivity and fairness in college football. Twenty-eight CFPA winners have been first-round NFL Draft selections.



    40-man 2014 Linebacker Trophy Watch List
    Trey DePriest, Alabama
    Qushaun Lee, Arkansas State
    Bryce Hager, Baylor
    Alani Fua, BYU
    Nick Temple, Cincinnati
    Stephone Anthony, Clemson
    Cory James, Colorado State
    Kelby Brown, Duke
    Montese Overton, East Carolina
    Ejiro Ederaine, Fresno State
    Jordan Jenkins, Georgia
    Ramik Wilson, Georgia
    Derrick Mathews, Houston
    Ben Heeney, Kansas
    Jermaine Holmes, Marshall
    Denzel Perryman, Miami
    Jake Ryan, Michigan
    Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State
    Norkeithus Otis, North Carolina
    Chi Chi Ariguzo, Northwestern
    Collin Ellis, Northwestern
    Jaylon Smith, Notre Dame
    Frank Shannon, Oklahoma
    Eric Striker, Oklahoma
    Serderius Bryant, Ole Miss
    Jake Fely, San Diego State
    Christian Tago, San Jose State
    A.J. Tarpley, Stanford
    Cameron Lynch, Syracuse
    Paul Dawson, TCU
    Tyler Matakevich, Temple
    A.J. Johnson, Tennessee
    Junior Sylvestre, Toledo
    Terrance Plummer, UCF
    Myles Jack, UCLA
    Eric Kendricks, UCLA
    Hayes Pullard, USC
    Kyler Fackrell, Utah State
    Zach Vigil, Utah State
    Shaq Thompson, Washington

    "Be Bold" - 2014 Fresno State football season tickets are now on sale and can be ordered online at GoBulldogs.com or over the phone at 559-278-DOGS (3647). The official home of the Fresno State Bulldogs is 940 AM ESPN Radio and ESPN Deportes 1600 AM.

    More Headlines