Garrett Swanson Named to Ray Guy Award Watch List
    P Garrett Swanson
    P Garrett Swanson

    July 9, 2014

    By Jason Clay

    WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. - Fresno State junior punter Garrett Swanson was one of 25 candidates named Wednesday to the 2014 Ray Guy Award preseason watch list, the Augusta Sports Council announced.

    The Ray Guy Award honors the nation's top collegiate punter.

    Swanson is coming off a strong sophomore campaign in 2013 when he received honorable mention All-Mountain West accolades.

    He helped Fresno State net 40.7 yards per punt, a figure that led the Mountain West and ranked No. 8 in the entire country.

    Swanson averaged 43.1 yards per punt last season, registered nine punts of 50 or more yards with a long of 69 and had only nine of his punts returned for just a mere average of 3.0 yards. Swanson also downed 14 punts inside the opponents 20-yard line last season.

    The 25 candidates on the list incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) punters. Drew Kaser (Texas A&M) is the lone returning Ray Guy Award finalist from 2013. Returning semifinalists include Cameron Johnston (Ohio State) and Mike Sadler (Michigan State).

    The number of eligible candidates for this season will grow when the award opens for nominations in September. The complete list of candidates will be released on Oct. 31. In early November, the Ray Guy Award committee will meet to select the ten semifinalists, who will be announced on Nov. 14. A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists, to be announced on Nov. 24. After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation's top punter. The winner will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing on ESPN on Thursday, Dec. 11, 2014.



    2014 Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List
    Zach Paul (Jr.), Akron
    Sam Irwin-Hill (Sr.), Arkansas
    Spencer Roth (Sr.), Baylor
    Cole Leininger (Jr.), California
    Will Monday (Jr.), Duke
    Sean Kelley (Jr.), Florida Atlantic
    Garrett Swanson (Jr.), Fresno State
    Austin Rehkow (So.), Idaho
    Trevor Pardula (Sr.), Kansas
    Anthony Melchiori (Jr.), Kent State
    Justin Manton (Sr.), LA.-Monroe
    Tyler Williams (Jr.), Marshall
    Mike Sadler (Sr.), Michigan State
    Peter Mortell (Jr.), Minnesota
    Thomas Hibbard (Sr.), North Carolina
    Wil Baumann (Sr.), North Carolina State
    Cameron Johnston (So.), Ohio State
    James Farrimond (Jr.), Rice
    Riley Dixon (Jr.), Syracuse
    Drew Kaser (Jr.), Texas A&M
    Hunter Mullins (Sr.), UAB
    Tom Hackett (Jr.), Utah
    Taylor Hudson (Sr.), Vanderbilt
    A.J. Hughes (Jr.), Virginia Tech
    Nick O'Toole (Jr.), West Virginia

    "Be Bold" - 2014 Fresno State football season tickets are now on sale and can be ordered online at or over the phone at 559-278-DOGS (3647). The official home of the Fresno State Bulldogs is 940 AM ESPN Radio and ESPN Deportes 1600 AM.

    More Headlines