Three `Dogs Named to More Preseason Watch Lists

July 10, 2014

By Jason Clay

FRESNO, Calif. - As the National College Football Awards Association continues to roll out its preseason watch lists, Fresno State had three more players recognized Thursday as candidates for two different national awards.

Bulldog offensive lineman Cody Wichmann was one of 64 players selected to the Outland Trophy preseason watch list. The Outland Trophy is presented to the nation's most outstanding interior lineman by the Football Writers Association of America.

Defensive end Tyeler Davison and free safety Derron Smith were both selected to the preseason watch list for the 2014 Bronko Nagurski Trophy that has been presented annually since 1993 to the nation's most outstanding defensive player.

These three Bulldog seniors have combined to play in 120 games and made 92 starts while helping Fresno State win back-to-back Mountain West championships.

Wichmann, who has started the most games of anyone on the team (36), was a honorable mention All-Mountain West selection last year. He has played the third-most snaps (2,824) of any FBS offensive linemen entering the season.

Davison, a two-time All-Mountain West honoree as a nose guard, will be moving to defensive end this season. He was ranked by ESPN NFL Draft guru Mel Kiper Jr. as the No. 5 senior defensive tackle prospect in the 2015 draft class.

For Smith, this is the third preseason watch list he has been named to in addition to three preseason All-America teams. Smith is also on the Bednarik Award watch list and the CFPA Defensive Back of the Year watch list. Smith's 42 games played are the most of any Bulldog and he has made 30 career starts. His 14 career interceptions are the most of any active player in the FBS.



The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 26-man first-team and eventually the Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Nov. 20. Four days later, three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 69th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century, will be announced on ESPN on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 11 from Disney's Boardwalk in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald won the award last season.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2014 FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's entire membership, selects the 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in America.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be held on Dec. 8 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte.

"Be Bold" - 2014 Fresno State football season tickets are now on sale and can be ordered online at or over the phone at 559-278-DOGS (3647). The official home of the Fresno State Bulldogs is 940 AM ESPN Radio and ESPN Deportes 1600 AM.

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format