Adams Earns Spot On Biletnikoff Award Watch List
Davante Adams has also been named a preseason All-American entering his sophomore season
Davante Adams has also been named a preseason All-American entering his sophomore season

July 16, 2013

By Jason Clay

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. - Fresno State sophomore wide receiver Davante Adams was named Tuesday to the 2013 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., announced.

Adams, who was the 2012 Mountain West Freshman of the Year, is joined on the list by Mountain West counterparts Noel Grigsby of San Jose State, Robert Herron of Wyoming, Matt Miller of Boise State and Brandon Wimberly of Nevada.

In his monster redshirt freshman campaign of 2012, Adams caught 102 passes for 1,312 yards and 14 touchdowns. He had 32 more receptions than any other MW player, 458 more receiving yards and five more touchdowns.

He tied for third nationally in TD receptions, ranked eighth in total receptions and was ninth in receiving yardage.

Entering his sophomore season, Adams has already been named a fourth-team preseason All-American by Phil Steele. He and USC wide receiver Marqise Lee, the 2012 winner of the Biletnikoff Award, are tied for the most TD receptions from 2012 among all players returning this year.

Adams caught a Mountain West record and tied the school record with eight consecutive games with a touchdown catch to close out the 2012 season. That eight-game streak with a TD reception is the longest active one in the FBS.

The Biletnikoff Award recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football and the winner will be presented live on Dec. 12, 2013, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show broadcasted on ESPN.

Below is a complete listing of the preseason watch lists the 'Dogs are on:

Davante Adams: 2013 CFPA Wide Receiver Trophy; Biletnikoff Award
Isaiah Burse: CFPA All-Purpose Performer of the Year, Paul Hornung Award
Derek Carr: Heisman Pundit Watch List, CFPA Quarterback Trophy, Maxwell Award
Tyeler Davison: Rotary Lombardi Award
Marcel Jensen: CFPA Tight End Trophy, John Mackay Award
L.J. Jones: Jim Thorpe Award
Derron Smith: Lott IMPACT Trophy, CFPA Defensive Back Trophy, Jim Thorpe Award, Chuck Bednarik Award
Austin Wentworth: Outland Trophy, Rotary Lombardi Award



NCFAA remaining 2013 preseason watch list calendar:
Wed., July 18: Davey O'Brien Award
Thurs., July 19: Doak Walker Award
Fri., July 20: Walter Camp Award

"Discover Fresno State Football" - 2013 Fresno State football season tickets are now on sale and can be ordered online at or over the phone at 559-278-DOGS (3647). The official home of the Fresno State Bulldogs is 940 AM ESPN Radio.

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format