Derron Smith Named to Walter Camp Watch List
Derron Smith needs four more interceptions to break the school record for most picks in a career
Derron Smith needs four more interceptions to break the school record for most picks in a career

July 18, 2014

By Jason Clay

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Fresno State senior safety Derron Smith was one of 50 players named Friday by the Walter Camp Football Foundation to its 2014 Player of the Year award watch list.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation is the nation's fourth-oldest individual college football accolade. Smith is one of 17 defensive players selected to the watch list (one of seven defensive backs), and one of four players from a Mountain West team.

Back in 2012, safety Phillip Thomas became the first Bulldog to ever be named to the Walter Camp Football Foundation All-America first-team. Smith, who was Thomas' safety counterpart back in 2012, now looks to follow in Thomas' footsteps as a highly decorated safety to come through Fresno State.

Friday's announcement of Smith being named to the Player of the Year watch list is a step in that direction and the preseason hype for him keeps growing. Here is a list of watch lists and All-America teams he has already been named to this summer:

• Watch list for the Walter Camp Football Foundation Player of the Year award.
• Watch list for the Jim Thorpe Award (nation's best defensive back).
• Watch list for the 2014 Bronko Nagurski Trophy (nation's most outstanding defensive player).
• Watch list for the Chuck Bednarik Award (College Defensive Player of the Year).
• Watch list for the CFPA Defensive Back of the Year Trophy.
• Watch list for the Lott IMPACT Trophy (college football defensive player with the biggest IMPACT on his team both on and off the field).
• Second-team preseason All-American, Lindy's Sports.
• Third-team preseason All-American, Athlon Sports.
• Third-team preseason All-American, Phil Steele.



Smith, a two-time first-team All-Mountain West selection, is the nation's active leader in career interceptions with 14.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists in mid-November. The 2014 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 125 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on ESPN SportsCenter on Thursday, Dec. 11. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on Jan. 17, 2015 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

"Be Bold" - The official home of the Fresno State Bulldogs is 940 AM ESPN Radio and ESPN Deportes 1600 AM.

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format