Bulldogs Head to 2014 MW Football Media Days

Fresno State Media Day Notes

July 21, 2014

By Jason Clay

LAS VEGAS, Nev. - Fresno State is set to enter its third year in the Mountain West and 93rd season overall in program history. The Bulldogs will be participating in the 2014 Mountain West Football Media Days at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas on Wednesday, July 23 with the rest of the West Division teams. Head coach Tim DeRuyter, senior wide receiver Josh Harper and senior free safety Derron Smith will be representing the program at media days.

The 2014 season will be the third under DeRuyter and his staff. The first two seasons have been very successful for the `Dogs, who shared the league title in 2012 (Fresno State's first year as a member of the Mountain West) and won the outright championship last year by defeating Utah State in the league's inaugural MW Championship game. DeRuyter has gone 20-6 in his first two seasons in the San Joaquin Valley - the most wins by any Bulldog coach in his first two seasons.

Fresno State returns 16 starters and 37 letterwinners off of last year's team that went 11-2 overall, matching the school record for victories in a season, and made an appearance in the 2013 Royal Purple Las Vegas Bowl. Headlining the 20-man senior class is Cody Wichmann, Tyeler Davison and Donavon Lewis in addition to Harper and Smith. Those five are all two-year returning starters who have been fundamental pieces in Fresno State capturing back-to-back league titles for the first time since 1992 and 1993.



Press releases announcing the Mountain West's 2014 predicted order of finish and preseason All-MW teams will be distributed on Tuesday, July 22 at 7:30 a.m. PT.

2014 Bulldog Headlines
• Fresno State along with Florida State and Stanford are the only three teams in the FBS that have won two conference championships and 20 or more games in the last two years.
• The Bulldogs along with the Stanford Cardinal are the only two teams in the FBS that have ranked in the top 10 in sacks in both the 2012 and 2013 seasons.
• Fresno State is 13-0 in Bulldog Stadium over the last two seasons. That 13-game home winning streak is the fifth-longest active winning streak in the FBS entering the season.

Continued Building
Tim DeRuyter has led Fresno State to back-to-back conference championships and a 20-6 overall record in his two seasons at the school. In year one, he guided the Bulldogs to a 9-4 record after the team went 4-9 the previous year, and won the school's first conference championship since 1999 - ending a 13-year drought. He followed that up with an 11-2 season last year, matching the school record for victories in a season and winning the outright conference championship. Now DeRuyter looks continue to build upon those successes in year three with a squad, that despite losing six players to the NFL, still returns 16 starters and the talent to compete for a third conference championship.

Bulldog Bites
• TCU (2009-11) is the only school to ever win three-straight MW titles. The last time the Bulldogs won three-straight conference titles was back from 1958-61 when the `Dogs captured four-straight California Collegiate Athletic Association championships.
• Fresno State led the Mountain West in attendance last year, averaging 36,917 fans over seven home games. That is the highest yearly average attendance since 2008 and it was helped out by the fact Fresno State had three sellouts in its 41,031-seat Bulldog Stadium - also the first sellouts since that 2008 season.
• The Bulldogs are 577-390-27 (.580) all-time in 92 seasons of football and that win total is the most of any team in the Mountain West. The next closest team in the league to the Bulldogs in program victories is Hawai`i with 530.
• The Bulldogs have a 14-2 record in two seasons playing in the Mountain West.
• Fresno State returns three starters on its offensive line that only allowed 11 sacks in 13 games last year. The `Dogs ranked sixth in the FBS last year for fewest sacks allowed, doing so while throwing the ball 675 times. That was 246 more pass attempts than any of the teams ranked ahead of the Bulldogs in fewest sacks allowed.

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format