Davison Named to Hendricks Award Watch List
Tyeler Davison is now on three national watch lists - Rotary Lombardi, Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Ted Hendricks Award
Tyeler Davison is now on three national watch lists - Rotary Lombardi, Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Ted Hendricks Award
Aug. 5, 2014

By: Matt Burkholder

CHICAGO - The Ted Hendricks Foundation announced on Tuesday that Tyeler Davison is one of 31 players to be named to its Preseason Watch List for the 13th edition of the Ted Hendricks Award. The annual award honors college football's premier defensive end.

The Scottsdale, Ariz. native returns for his senior season as one of the team's most experienced players, having played in 39 games. He is a back-to-back All-Mountain West selection - 2012 First-Team and 2013 Second-Team - and was named a 2014 Preseason First-Team All-MW selection by the league two weeks ago. He owns 100 career tackles while playing nose guard and has recorded 15.5 tackles for loss in his career, included 6.0 sacks.

Along with being on the Hendricks Award Watch List, Davison was also named to the Rotary Lombardi and Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch Lists this summer.

The initial list will be adjusted as the 2014 season progresses and will remain open to additions and subtractions until the selection committee casts its first vote in late November.

On-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the Award's winner. Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are included in the Award's voting committee. Candidates may represent any class (Freshman through Senior) as well as any four-year NCAA accredited school. The candidate's primary position must be Defensive End.

The Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football's first three-time first-team All-American. As a defensive end at the University of Miami, Ted used his agility, height and reach to block passes and kicks, force interceptions and pressure quarterbacks and running backs. He roamed the front line, read plays and blitzed on impulse, completely transforming the way the defensive end position was played. His professional career spanned 15 years and 215 consecutive games. It included four Super Bowl victories, eight Pro Bowl selections and inductions into the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame. It is in the spirit of Ted Hendricks' aggressive style of play, winning attitude and determination that the Defensive End of the Year Award for college football's premier defensive end is presented.



Previous recipients of the Hendricks Award: 2002 - Terrell Suggs (Arizona State), 2003-04 - David Pollack (Georgia), 2005 - Elvis Dumervil (Louisville), 2006 - LaMarr Woodley (Michigan), 2007 - Chris Long (Virginia), 2008 - Brian Orakpo (Texas), 2009 - Jerry Hughes (TCU), 2010 - Da'Quan Bowers (Clemson), 2011 - Whitney Mercilus (Illinois), 2012 - Jadeveon Clowney (South Carolina) and 2013 - Jackson Jeffcoat (Texas).

The Hendricks Award voting committee will cast two votes: one to narrow the list of candidates to 4-6 finalists, and one to choose our winner for this season. Our Final Mid-Season Watch List will be announced in late November. The 2014 winner will be announced on December 10th.

For more information visit -- http://tedhendricks.com/award.htm.

31-Man Hendricks Award Watch List
Henry Anderson - Stanford
Tarell Basham - Ohio
Vic Beasley - Clemson
Joey Bosa - Ohio State
Shilique Calhoun - Michigan State
Frank Clark - Michigan
James Cowser - Southern Utah
Tyeler Davison- Fresno State
Mario Edwards, Jr. - Florida State
Alvin Dupree - Kentucky
Devonte Fields - TCU
Trey Flowers - Arkansas
Dante Fowler, Jr. - Florida
Dee Ford - Auburn
Markus Golden - Missouri
Randy Gregory - Nebraska
Eli Harold - Virginia
Brock Hekking - Nevada
Martin Ifedi - Memphis
Carl Lawson - Auburn
Silverberry Mouhon - Cincinnati
Lorenzo Mauldin - Louisville
Ryan Mueller - Kansas State
Shawn Oakman - Baylor
Cedric Reed - Texas
A'shawn Robinson - Alabama
Charles Tapper - Oklahoma
Eddie Vanderdoes - UCLA
Zach Wagenmann - Montana
Leonard Williams - USC
Eddie Yarbrough - Wyoming

"Be Bold!" - The official home of the Fresno State Bulldogs is 940 AM ESPN Radio.

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format