Derek Carr Remains in Hunt for Golden Arm Award
Derek Carr remains in running to join his brother David (2001) as a Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award winner
Derek Carr remains in running to join his brother David (2001) as a Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award winner

Oct. 16, 2013

By: Matt Burkholder

BALTIMORE - The initial Top 30 Watch List for the 2013 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award has been cut in half midway through the 2013 season and Fresno State senior Derek Carr remains one of 15 candidates for the prestigious annual award that recognizes the country's top college quarterback.

Carr currently ranks second nationally with 372.8 passing yards per game and 19 touchdown passes. The Bakersfield, Calif. native is also tied for third in the FBS for point responsibility with 120 and had led the 'Dogs to a 47.4 points per game average, fifth-best nationally.

Fresno State remains with an unblemished 5-0 record to start the season and a No. 17 ranking in the Associated Press Top 25 Poll, its highest ranking since being No. 16 in November 2005. The 5-0 start is the Bulldogs' best start since 2001 when it opened the year with six-straight wins and reached as high as No. 8 in the AP Top 25.

Carr registered his third 400-yard passing game of the season last time out at Idaho (419) and in the process set a new school record for most 300-yard passing games in a career with 14. Entering Saturday's Homecoming matchup versus UNLV he needs just three more touchdown passes to surpass Paul Pinegar's school record of 84.

Candidates for the Golden Arm Award must be college seniors or fourth-year juniors on schedule to graduate with their class. The award has been presented at the end of each season since 1987 to the nation's top college quarterback, based on his accomplishments both on and off the field.

The 2013 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award will be presented at a ceremony on Friday, Dec. 6, in Baltimore, Md. Previous winners of the Golden Arm Award include: Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); David Carr (Fresno State, 2001); Carson Palmer (USC, 2002); Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009); and Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011). Last year's winner, Collin Klein of Kanas State, was a Second Team All-American (AP) and the 2012 Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year (AP).



Remaining candidates for the prestigious annual award - named after the man many refer to as the greatest quarterback ever to play the game of football - are:

• Blake Bortles, UCF
• Tajh Boyd, Clemson
Derek Carr, Fresno State
• Cody Fajardo, Nevada
• James Franklin, Missouri
• Taylor Kelly, Arizona State
• Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
• Sean Mannion, Oregon State
• AJ McCarron, Alabama
• Stephen Morris, Miami
• Aaron Murray, Georgia
• Keith Price, Washington
• Connor Shaw, South Carolina
• Joe Southwick, Boise State
• Keith Wenning, Ball State

The Golden Arm Award is presented by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and Transamerica.

To learn more about the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, visit:

"Catch the Wave" - 2013 Fresno State football tickets are now on sale and can be ordered online at or over the phone at 559-278-DOGS (3647). Join in on the Derek Carr for Heisman Campaign by visiting

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format