Carr Named Maxwell Award Semifinalist

Oct. 29, 2013

By: Matt Burkholder

FRESNO, Calif. - Fresno State quarterback Derek Carr has been announced by Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski, as a 2013 Semifinalist for the 77th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year. The respective list includes a field of 16 candidates for the Maxwell Award as selected by the Maxwell Football Club National Selection Committee.

The Bulldogs' senior quarterback has led Fresno State to its first 7-0 start since 1991 behind a potent offense. With Carr at the helm Fresno State ranks seventh nationally in both scoring (44.3 ppg) and total offense (524.6 ypg).

Carr ranks third nationally in passing (367.7) and is second in the FBS with 25 touchdown passes while only throwing four picks. He enters the Nevada game with 128 consecutive pass attempts without an interception. He had a streak of 180 consecutive attempts without a pick earlier in the season, which is the fourth-longest streak in Mountain West history.

Last week at SDSU, Carr and the Bulldogs offense had a slow start, but he finished strong and completed 11-of-13 passes for 134 yards and one touchdown in the fourth quarter and in overtime. On the season he is 45-of-64 passing (70.3 percent) for 467 yards and four touchdowns against one interception in the fourth quarter and overtime of games this year.

He continues to be the heartbeat of the team and his play has warranted national attention.

The winner of the 77th Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show which will be broadcast on ESPN on December 12, 2013. Three finalists for the award will be announced on November 25, 2013 and a second round of voting will take place at that time. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner on Friday, February 28, 2014 in Atlantic City, New Jersey. Semifinalist voting for the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Wednesday, October 30th and close on Sunday November 24th. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media. All Semifinalists are listed in alphabetical order with the player's school, position and class designated.



The Maxwell Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more.

"Catch the Wave" - 2013 Fresno State football tickets are now on sale and can be ordered online at or over the phone at 559-278-DOGS (3647). The official home of the Fresno State Bulldogs is 940 AM ESPN Radio.

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format