Tim DeRuyter on Bear Bryant Watch List
Tim DeRuyter is 17-4 in two seasons at Fresno State and his program has won 13-straight regular-season games
Tim DeRuyter is 17-4 in two seasons at Fresno State and his program has won 13-straight regular-season games

Nov. 5, 2013

HOUSTON - American Heart Association and The Paul Bear Bryant Awards' Title Sponsor Marathon Oil Corporation has announced the full watch list for the coveted Coach of the Year Honor and Fresno State's Tim DeRuyter is among the 20 candidates.

In early December, a finalists' list comprised of five to ten coaches will be announced. Finalists will attend an awards dinner on Jan. 15, 2014 in Houston, Texas at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in the Galleria, where the winner will be announced live. The Bryant Coach of the Year Award is the only college coaching honor voted on after all of the bowl games are concluded.

DeRuyter has led Fresno State to an 8-0 start this year, the programs best start since opening the 1989 season 10-0. He has the Bulldogs ranked No. 16 in the current BCS Standings and atop the West Division in the Mountain West.

His squad ranks sixth nationally in total offense and eighth in scoring while defensively the Bulldogs are tied for third in the FBS in sacks.

Since taking over in 2012, DeRuyter turned what was a 4-9 Fresno State team in 2011 into a 9-4 squad in his first season. That was the sixth-best turnaround registered in the FBS in 2012 and the nine victories are the most by a first-year coach in school history.

Additionally, DeRuyter led the Bulldogs to a share of the 2012 Mountain West championship, the school's first conference title since 1999.

2013 Paul Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Award Watch List (alphabetical order):
• David Bailiff - Rice
• Art Briles - Baylor
• Rod Carey - Northern Illinois
Tim DeRuyter - Fresno State
• Jimbo Fisher - Florida State
• Al Golden - Miami (FL)
• Mark Helfrich - Oregon
• Brady Hoke - Michigan
• Kliff Kingsbury - Texas Tech
• Pete Lembo - Ball State
• Tony Levine - University of Houston
• Gus Malzahn - Auburn
• Urban Meyer - Ohio State
• Les Miles - LSU
• George O'Leary - UCF
• Gary Pinkel - Missouri
• Nick Saban - Alabama
• David Shaw - Stanford
• Bob Stoops - Oklahoma
• Kevin Sumlin - Texas A&M



"Catch the Wave" - Tickets for Fresno State regular season finale against New Mexico on Nov. 23 are still available and can be purchased online at gobulldogs.com, over the phone at 559-278-DOGS (3647) or in person at the Bulldog Ticket Office located at Bulldog Stadium. The official home of the Fresno State Bulldogs is 940 AM ESPN Radio.

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format