Derek Carr Named Top 10 Finalist for Golden Arm Award
Derek Carr remains in running to join his brother David (2001) as a Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award winner
Derek Carr remains in running to join his brother David (2001) as a Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award winner

Nov. 6, 2013

By: Matt Burkholder

BALTIMORE - A list that once featured 30 candidates for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award was narrowed down once more on Wednesday and Fresno State quarterback Derek Carr remains in the chase for the prestigious annual award that recognizes the country's top college quarterback. The initial watch list for the award was most recently cut to 15 semifinalists on Oct. 16.

Carr currently ranks second nationally in both passing yards per game (382.6) and touchdowns (28) and enters next week's game versus Wyoming with 183 consecutive pass attempts without an interception. The Bakersfield, Calif. native is also fourth in the FBS for point responsibility with 180 and has led the 'Dogs to a 43.9 points per game average, seventh-best nationally.

Fresno State remains as one of seven FBS teams with an unblemished record in 2013, while the 'Dogs themselves are off to their best start since 1989. Fresno State's 8-0 start has earned them a No. 16 ranking in the BCS standings and a No. 17 position in both the USA Today Coaches Poll and AP Top 25.

Carr registered his fifth 400-yard passing game of the season last time out against Nevada (487) and in the process set the Fresno State all-time record for most passing yards in a career (10,821). Carr has thrown for more than 400 yards in five of eight games this season and has now exceeded 3,000 yards on the season (3,061, 3rd-nationally). He is one of three quarterbacks in the FBS to reach that plateau this season and has become the first Bulldog to reach 3,000 yards in a season for three consecutive years.

Candidates for the Golden Arm Award must be college seniors or fourth-year juniors on schedule to graduate with their class. The award has been presented at the end of each season since 1987 to the nation's top college quarterback, based on his accomplishments both on and off the field.



The 2013 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award will be presented at a ceremony on Friday, Dec. 6, in Baltimore, Md. Previous winners of the Golden Arm Award include: Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); David Carr (Fresno State, 2001); Carson Palmer (USC, 2002); Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009); and Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011). Last year's winner, Collin Klein of Kanas State, was a Second Team All-American (AP) and the 2012 Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year (AP).

Remaining candidates for the prestigious annual award - named after the man many refer to as the greatest quarterback ever to play the game of football - are:

• Blake Bortles, UCF
• Tajh Boyd, Clemson
Derek Carr, Fresno State
• Taylor Kelly, Arizona State
• Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
• Sean Mannion, Oregon State
• AJ McCarron, Alabama
• Aaron Murray, Georgia
• Keith Price, Washington
• Connor Shaw, South Carolina
• Keith Wenning, Ball State

The Golden Arm Award is presented by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and Transamerica.

To learn more about the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, visit:

"Catch the Wave" - 2013 Fresno State football tickets are now on sale and can be ordered online at or over the phone at 559-278-DOGS (3647). Join in on the Derek Carr for Heisman Campaign by visiting

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format