Adams Named Biletnikoff Award Semifinalist
Adams has caught an FBS-best 15 TDs this season
Adams has caught an FBS-best 15 TDs this season

Nov. 18, 2013

By: Matt Burkholder

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. - Fresno State wide receiver Davante Adams was announced on Monday by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., the creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award, as one of 10 Semifinalists for the 2013 Biletnikoff Award.

Adams, a redshirt sophomore, is having a record season with 91 receptions, 967 yards and 15 touchdowns that has played a pivotal role in the team's 9-0 record and No. 15 ranking in the BCS standings.

The Palo Alto, Calif., native leads the nation in three categories this season. Adams has hauled in 15 touchdowns, averages a nation-best 10.11 receptions per game and leads all wide outs in the FBS with five games with 10-plus receptions. This week, Adams ranks No. 10 in the FBS in receiving yards per game - 107.4.

Adams is one of two receivers in the Mountain West to surpass 200-yards plus receiving in a game this year (with teammate Josh Harper) and one of 16 players to do so in the NCAA this season. On Nov. 2 when the Bulldogs hosted Nevada, Adams collected 221 yards receiving and tied the single-game school record for most touchdowns in game with four. Adams is one of three players that have reached the four-TD mark this season. After posting one more TD grab at Wyoming last time out, Adams is now one TD shy of breaking the all-time record for most TDs in a single season.

Adams tied a then-school record of 16 catches for 185 yards in a 61-14 win at Idaho on Oct. 5. Most of that damage was done in the first half alone as he caught a first half school record 13 passes for 176 yards and all three TD receptions. His mark of 16 catches is tied for the fourth-best outing in the FBS this season.



Adams has 193 catches and 29 touchdowns in just 22 career games, and has already broken the school record for most career touchdowns. Additionally for his career, he is the active career leader in receptions per game (8.8) and receiving yards per game (103.6).

The electronic voting by the 214 distinguished members of the National Selection Committee was conducted from November 13th through November 17th.

Foundation Chairman Ritchie Pickron commented: "The universe of players who could win the Biletnikoff Award is vast. College football is replete with many hundreds of fine receivers at numerous positions, including wide receiver, tight end, running back, and slotback. The depth and quality of the 2013 crop of excellent receivers is the deepest in memory. We congratulate all of our watch list receivers for their play and we commend the ten finalists for outstanding seasons. Our eminent 214 person National Selection Committee certainly has had a very difficult duty in selecting the ten semifinalist; we thank them for their devotion to this task."

Semifinalists for the 2013 Biletnikoff Award are: (listed in alphabetical order)

Davante Adams, Fresno State, SO
Jace Amaro, Texas Tech, JR
Odell Beckham, Jr., LSU, JR
Brandin Cooks, Oregon State, JR
Mike Evans, Texas A&M, SO
Antwan Goodley, Baylor, JR
Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt, SR
Allen Robinson, Penn State, JR
Willie Snead, Ball State, JR
Sammy Watkins, Clemson, JR

Fans may now help determine which three receivers will advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at the Biletnikoff Award Fan Vote website. Fan voting will close on November 24th.

The top 3 aggregate fan votes for receiver will each count as the equivalent of one national selection committee vote for each of those three receivers for finalists. Following the finalists' selection, the subsequent top single aggregate fan vote for receiver will count as the equivalent of one national selection committee vote for winner.

The three Finalists will be announced on Monday, November 25th. The Biletnikoff Award winner will be announced live on ESPN's The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 12, 2013.

Click here to access the Biletnikoff Award FAN VOTE


Also, the Biletnikoff Award has an online forum and discussion board on the Biletnikoff Award website. The forum consists of fan-created discussion topics that allow sports fans to voice their opinions.

Click here to access the Biletnikoff Award Forum Discussion Boards. (

Login and join or begin various discussions about sports, including who will win the 2013 Biletnikoff Award. It's easy---create your screen name, receive a computer generated password, and immediately join in the discussions or create a new topic!

The Biletnikoff Award recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 215 prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. The fan vote counts as one additional vote. Receivers may be added to the watch list as their season performances dictate.

The Foundation's charitable mission is to provide college scholarships to North Florida high school seniors who have overcome significant barriers to achieve at the highest academic and extra-curricular levels. The Foundation awarded $750,000 in scholarships in 2013 alone and expects to increase that amount in 2014.

The 2013 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 12, 2013, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 7:00 to 9:00 pm on ESPN.

The 2013 Biletnikoff Award winner will receive the Biletnikoff Award Trophy, the most beautiful in college sports, and the custom designed Biletnikoff Award winner's ring before 600 patrons at the annual Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, February 8, 2014, and will be live streamed on ESPN3, as it was in 2013.

The banquet was hailed by 2013 keynote speaker Larry Csonka as "the best banquet in college sports."

Coaching great Dick Vermeil will deliver the 2014 banquet's keynote address (following a tradition of distinguished keynoters including Bart Starr, Larry Csonka, Steve Largent, Mike Ditka, Don Shula, Dan Reeves, Archie Manning, Jerry Kramer, Bill Curry, Gene Stallings, Ron Jaworski, and Dan Fouts) and recognize the Foundation's scholarship recipients.

For more information visit

Biletnikoff Trophy - About the Biletnikoff Award

The Biletnikoff Award is presented annually to the nation's outstanding college football receiver (the award defines receiver as any player who catches a pass) by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. (TQC). The TQC Foundation, Inc. is an independent, charitable organization that was founded in 1994. Past Chairman and Founding Trustee Professor Walter W. Manley II, Founding Trustee L. Thomas Cox, Jr., Founding Trustee Rocky Bevis, and Founding Trustee Bob Teel established the award and the TQC Foundation, Inc. that sponsors it. Many more trustees have contributed to its development as one of the most prominent awards in college football. The idea of a college receiver's award was not a novel one, as a number of organizations throughout America considered establishing it; however, the TQC Foundation, Inc. joined the idea to the organization's vision and created an outstanding award and dynamic organization. The trophy, presented to each winner, is the most beautiful in college football - it has won several national awards for design excellence and aesthetic appeal.

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format