Derek Carr Named Finalist for Golden Arm Award
Derek Carr remains in running to join his brother David (2001) as a Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award winner
Derek Carr remains in running to join his brother David (2001) as a Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award winner

Nov. 19, 2013

By: Matt Burkholder

BALTIMORE- Fresno State quarterback Derek Carr was announced on Tuesday as one of five finalists for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. The winner of the award that recognizes the country's top college quarterback will be announced on Dec. 13.

Carr currently ranks second nationally in both passing yards per game (380.1) and touchdowns (32), and enters the home finale this Saturday at Bulldog Stadium versus New Mexico with 229 consecutive pass attempts without an interception. The Bakersfield, Calif. native is also fourth in the FBS for point responsibility with 204 and has led the 'Dogs to a 44.3 points per game average, seventh-best nationally.

With two regular season games remaining Carr has thrown for 3,421 yards and is responsible for 30 more touchdowns than he is turnovers this year, which ranks second among all FBS players. He currently leads all active players by having thrown for a touchdown in 29-straight games and set the record last time out for most consecutive games throwing for a touchdown in the Mountain West at 22 - Fresno State played its inaugural season in MW last season, therefore Carr's stats from his redshirt sophomore year are not accounted for.

Fresno State remains as one of six FBS teams with an unblemished record in 2013, while the 'Dogs themselves are off to their best start since 1989. Fresno State's 9-0 start has earned them a No. 15 ranking in the BCS standings and a No. 16 position in the USA Today Coaches Poll.

Candidates for the Golden Arm Award must be college seniors or fourth-year juniors on schedule to graduate with their class. The award has been presented at the end of each season since 1987 to the nation's top college quarterback, based on his accomplishments both on and off the field.



Remaining candidates for the prestigious annual award - named after the man many refer to as the greatest quarterback ever to play the game of football - are:

• Tajh Boyd, Clemson
Derek Carr, Fresno State
• Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
• AJ McCarron, Alabama
• Aaron Murray, Georgia

The 2013 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award will be presented at a ceremony on Friday, December 13 (Note New Date), in Baltimore, MD. Previous winners of the Golden Arm Award include: Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); David Carr (Fresno State, 2001); Carson Palmer (USC, 2002); Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009); and Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011). Last year's winner, Collin Klein of Kanas State, was a Second Team All-American (AP) and the 2012 Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year (AP).

The Golden Arm Award is presented by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and Transamerica.

To learn more about the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, visit:

"Catch the Wave" - Approximately 3,000 seats remain for Fresno State's regular season finale, tickets are now on sale and can be ordered online at or over the phone at 559-278-DOGS (3647). Join in on the Derek Carr for Heisman Campaign by visiting

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format