Tim DeRuyter A Coach of the Year Semifinalist
    Tim DeRuyter's Bulldogs are one of just six undefeated teams left in the FBS this season
    Tim DeRuyter's Bulldogs are one of just six undefeated teams left in the FBS this season

    Nov. 20, 2013

    PHILADELPHIA, Pa. - Fresno State head football coach Tim DeRuyter is one of 16 semifinalists for the 2013 Maxwell Football Club (MFC) Collegiate Coach of the Year Award, the MFC announced Wednesday.

    DeRuyter has Fresno State off to just the school's third 9-0 start in program history and has the Bulldogs ranked No. 15 in the current BCS Standings.

    His Bulldogs feature one of the nation's top offenses and a defense that ranks in the top 10 in the FBS in sacks and tackles for a loss. Fresno State's offense ranks No. 4 in the bowl subdivision in passing (384.0 ypg), No. 5 in total offense (546.6 ypg) and No. 7 in scoring (44.3 ppg).

    Fresno State quarterback Derek Carr is a Heisman Trophy candidate along with being a semifinalist for every other major award a quarterback can qualify for. Wide receiver Davante Adams, the nation's leader in touchdown catches with 15, is a Biletnikoff Award semifinalist. Safety Derron Smith, a CBSSports.com midseason first-team All-America selection, is tied for seventh in the FBS with five interceptions on the season.

    DeRuyter has an 18-4 overall record in his second season as head coach of the Bulldogs. Last year, he led the 'Dogs to a 9-4 season and the school's first conference championship since 1999. This year, Fresno State is one win away from clinching the West Division in the Mountain West and earning a spot in the league's inaugural conference championship game that will be played on Dec. 7 (CBS, 7 p.m. PT).

    Semifinalist voting for of the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year award will begin on Thursday, Nov. 21 and close on Monday, Dec. 2. Finalist voting will take place from Dec. 3-15 and the winner will be announced on Dec. 17. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head football coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media. Bill O'Brien of Penn State University was the 2012 winner of the award.



    MFC Collegiate Coach of the Year Semifinalist
    Nick Saban, Alabama
    Gus Malzahn, Auburn
    Art Briles, Baylor
    Steve Addazio, Boston College
    Dabo Swinney, Clemson
    David Cutcliffe, Duke
    Tim DeRuyter, Fresno State
    Jimbo Fisher, Florida State
    Mark Dantonio, Michigan State
    Gary Pinkel, Missouri
    Rod Carey, Northern Illinois
    Urban Meyer, Ohio State
    Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State
    George O'Leary, UCF
    Ed Orgeron, USC
    Gary Andersen, Wisconsin

    "Catch the Wave" - Tickets for Fresno State regular season finale against New Mexico on Nov. 23 are still available and can be purchased online at gobulldogs.com, over the phone at 559-278-DOGS (3647) or in person at the Bulldog Ticket Office located at Bulldog Stadium. The official home of the Fresno State Bulldogs is 940 AM ESPN Radio.

    More Headlines