Derek Carr Named Manning Award Finalist

Nov. 26, 2013

By: Matt Burkholder

NEW ORLEANS - Fresno State senior quarterback Derek Carr was announced on Tuesday a finalist for the Manning Award. The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, was created in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes the candidates' bowl performances into consideration in its balloting.

Carr, one of 10 finalists for this year's award, enters the Bulldogs final regular season game this Friday versus San Jose State leading the nation in touchdown passes (39), touchdowns responsible for (41) and passing yards per game (394.3). Kickoff is set for 12:30 p.m. PT on the CBS Sports Network.

More Carr Facts:
• Is responsible for 37 more touchdowns than he is turnovers this season, which leads all FBS players by three.
• Has an FBS-leading 39 touchdown passes against only four interceptions in 502 pass attempts.
• Has a current streak of 266 consecutive passes without throwing an interception, which is a school and Mountain West record.
• Throwing for 394.8 yards per game, which leads the nation. His 3,948 total passing yardage ranks No. 2 in the FBS despite the fact that he has played in one less game than every other player ranked in the top 5.
• Tied for the national lead in touchdowns responsible for with 41 and points responsible for with 246.
• Has thrown a touchdown pass in 30-straight games, which is the longest active streak in the FBS.
• Thrown for over 300 yards in 8-of-10 games this season and four or more TD passes in 6-of-10 games.
• His six games with 400-plus passing yards this year leads all FBS quarterbacks.

The winner is scheduled to be announced on Wednesday, Jan. 8 after the bowls conclude and will be honored at a ceremony in New Orleans.
The Finalist are:

Name Cl. School QBR C A Pct. Yds. TDs INTs Wins
Derek Carr Sr. Fresno St. 84.1 350 502 0.697 3948 39 4 10
Johnny Manziel So. Texas A&M 81.5 246 356 0.691 3537 32 13 8
Bryce Petty Jr. Baylor 87.6 180 281 0.641 3351 26 1 9
Teddy Bridgewater Jr. Louisville 84.3 245 345 0.71 3268 25 3 10
Tajh Boyd Sr. Clemson 75.1 233 346 0.673 3248 29 7 10
Jameis Winston Fr. Florida St. 91.2 199 286 0.696 3163 32 7 11
Marcus Mariota So. Oregon 87.2 210 326 0.644 3127 27 2 9
Aaron Murray Sr. Georgia 77.9 225 347 0.648 3075 26 9 7
Jordan Lynch Sr. Northern Ill. 77.6 207 312 0.663 2418 21 5 11
AJ McCarron Sr. Alabama 79.4 190 277 0.686 2399 23 5 11



"This has been another great year for quarterbacks; and it's getting more interesting as the games get bigger," Archie Manning said. "We really appreciate our selection committee's work in choosing this outstanding group of finalists. I'm looking forward to seeing how they all do over the next couple of weeks and through their bowl games as we prepare to honor our 10th winner in January."

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, then the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. McCoy was followed by top-two NFL Draft picks - Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall by the Carolina Panthers and then Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, was the 2012 winner prior to being the No. 2 overall pick by the Washington Redskins. This past season's winner was Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel, who became the first freshman to earn the honor.

"Catch The Wave!" -- Stay connected with the Bulldogs on Facebook (fresnostateathletics), Instagram (fresnostateathletics) and Twitter (@FSAthletics).

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format