Boutillier, Udwadia Earn Top WAC Honors
    Remi Boutillier was named the 2012 WAC Player of the Year by the coaches.
    Remi Boutillier was named the 2012 WAC Player of the Year by the coaches.

    April 26, 2012

    DENVER. Colo. - The Western Athletic Conference announced the 2012 women's tennis award winners, as selected by the league's head coaches, tonight at the WAC Tennis Tournament banquet. Fresno State's Remi Boutillier was named WAC Player of the Year, Nevada's Moez Echargui was named Freshman of the Year and Fresno State's head coach Jay Udwadia earned Coach of the Year honors.

    Boutillier, who is currently ranked No. 26 in the nation, went 25-6 overall on the season and 4-1 in WAC play. He was named WAC Men's Tennis Athlete of the Month in October and November, and was the WAC Men's Tennis Athlete of the Week on four occasions. Going into the WAC Tournament, he currently has 96 singles wins and 100 doubles wins in his career.

    In his eighth season at the helm, Udwadia led the Bulldogs to an 18-4 mark, including a 5-0 record against WAC opponents. With a national ranking of No. 33, Fresno State is the top seed in this week's WAC Tournament. This is Udwadia's second consecutive WAC Coach of the Year honor.

    2012 WAC Men's Tennis Award Winners

    First Team All-WAC Singles

    Remi Boutillier, Fresno State

    Jean-Charles Diame, Fresno State

    Francis Casey Alcantara, Fresno State

    Jonathan Brooklyn, Hawai'i

    Wessim Derbel, Nevada

    Matej Stakne, New Mexico State

    First Team All-WAC Doubles

    Francis Alcantara and Remi Boutillier, Fresno State



    Jonathan Brooklyn and Dmytro Kovalyov, Hawai'i

    Jose Bendeck and Cristobal Ramos Salazar, Idaho

    Second Team All-WAC Singles

    David Ayoun, Fresno State

    Dmytro Kovalyov, Hawai'i

    Marius Cirstea, Idaho

    Abid Akbar, Idaho

    Victor Ouvrard, Nevada

    Sven Poslusny, Utah State

    Second Team All-WAC Doubles

    David Ayoun and Zach Leslie, Fresno State

    Wessim Derbel and Fernando Sunago, Nevada

    Marc Westgate and Luis Ramirez, New Mexico State

    WAC Player of the Year: Remi Boutillier, Fresno State

    WAC Freshman of the Year: Moez Echargui, Nevada

    WAC Coach of the Year: Jay Udwadia, Fresno State

    "Discover Fresno State Athletics!" --- You can always stay connected with Fresno State Athletics on Facebook (fresnostateathletics) and Twitter (@FSAthletics). 

    More Headlines