Ross Named Team MVP
Jaleesa Ross was named the Fresno State team MVP.
Jaleesa Ross was named the Fresno State team MVP.

March 26, 2010

FRESNO, Calif. - It was a historic year for the Fresno State women's basketball team. The Bulldogs rattled off a school record 27 wins, won its third straight WAC regular season title with a perfect 16-0 record, earned the program's first-ever at-large berth to the NCAA tournament and won a school record 19 straight games.

The success of the teams' history making season was celebrated on Thursday evening at the team's end of the year banquet.

The coaches handed out team awards to certain student-athletes on the team.

Jaleesa Ross was named the team MVP. She is a three-time All-WAC honoree and had a record-breaking season as she averaged 17.4 points and scored 592 points, the second most points scored in a season by a Bulldog and the 17.4 points was the fourth best scoring average in a season for a Fresno State player. Earlier on Tuesday she was named a finalist for the WBCA State Farm All-American Team.

"She is a wonderful person and she will make a great basketball coach one day," Fresno State coach Adrian Wiggins said.

This year Ross became the Fresno State career 3-pointer leader, breaking Lindsay Logan's record of 272. She now has 287 3-pointers for her career and needs nine to move into third place in the WAC. She broke her own single season record by hitting 103 this year. The 103 3's ties Utah's Julie Krommenhoek for the second most 3-pointers hit in a year in WAC history.

The team's Offensive Player of the Year award was given to Hayley Munro. She is a two-time All-Wac selection and she became the 18th player in program history to surpass 1,000 points for her career. She averaged 11.7 points this season.

"When the competition got better she got better," Wiggins said.

Joh-Teena Filipe was named the teams Defensive Player of the Year. She led the team in blocks with 24 but more importantly, the Bulldog coaches were impressed with how she guarded the team's top post players.



"She did a fabulous job all year long," Wiggins said. "She is a great post defender and she allowed us to have great success this year."

Rosie Moult was named the teams' Most Improved Player. She was named to the WAC All-Freshman team. She averaged 7.3 points and 4.9 rebounds and was second on team in 3-pointers made with 60.

Emma Andrews, who averaged 7.9 points, received the Bulldog Award.

"This is an award that embodies everything about being a Fresno State student," Wiggins said.

LaShay Fears, Joh-Teena Filipe and Brittny Jones received the outstanding Leadership award. All three are set to graduate in May with their degrees.

"These three led not only with their mouth but with their actions," Wiggins said. "They exemplify what it means to be a student-athlete."

MVP- Jaleesa Ross
Offensive Player of the Year- Hayley Munro
Defensive Player of the Year- Joh-Teena Filipe
Most Improved- Rosie Moult
Bulldog Award- Emma Andrews
Outstanding Leadership Award- Brittny Jones, LaShay Fears, Joh-Teena Filipe

"We Are Your Team"-- For Fresno State ticket information click on the tickets link at the top of the page.

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format