Bulldogs End Season With Impressive Finale
    Madchen Ly earned All-Mountain West second team honors at the conclusion of the MW Championship.
    Madchen Ly earned All-Mountain West second team honors at the conclusion of the MW Championship.

    April 27, 2013

    By Elly Walker

    RANCHO MIRAGE, Calif. -- The Fresno State women's golf team competed in its first-ever Mountain West Championship on April 25-27 to bring home a third place finish, which is the third in program history.

    On the tournament, the Bulldogs recorded 54-over par, 918 (306-308-304).

    "I'm proud of the team," head coach Angie Cates Moore said. "They wanted this so bad. They fought hard out there today and never gave up."

    Each of the five individuals in the Bulldog lineup made the top 20 of the 40-player field.

    Hillary Billingsley remained in the lead in round three, but fell from her day two sixth place finish, to a tie for 13th. Billingsley shot 16-over par, 232 (76-75-81) on the tournament and trailed the tournament leader by nine strokes. Billingsley's tie for 13th marked her season-best finish. Her previous season-best finish was her tie for 38th place at the Fresno State Lexus Classic.

    Madchen Ly, Hannah Sodersten, and Shaylee Yano each carded 17-over par, 223 to conclude the tournament in a four-way tie for 15th place.

    Ly (79-79-75) made three birdies on the day and fired her lowest round of the tournament with three-over. At the conclusion of the tournament, the MW announced the all-conference teams and Madchen Ly earned All-Mountain West second-team honors.

    Sodersten (84-76-73) posted the best score of the tournament for the Bulldogs in round three. Sodesten fired one-over par and made two birdies. Sodersten was one of three individuals to lead the tournament in pars. She made 35 on the tournament.



    Yano (74-82-77) shot five-over par on the day and made three birdies. On the tournament, Yano led the Bulldogs in birdies with eight. Yano's tie for 15th place peaked her previous season-best finish, which she claimed at the Peg Barnard Invitational when she recorded her first top-20 finish, a tie for 17th place.

    Krysta Clark followed just behind the trio with 18-over par, 234. Clark (77-78-79) made six birdies on the tournament and seized her first top-20 title by placing in a tie for 19th place.

    "They had a really good year," Cates Moore said. "There are a lot of things that they have accomplished they deserve a lot of credit. They are a great group with a ton of talent and they're only going to continue to improve."

    43rd-ranked UNLV took the conference crown at 40-over par, 904 (314-290-300) and Manon DeRoey of New Mexico and Demi Mak of UNLV tied for the individual title with seven-over par, 223. DeRoey birdied on the 18th hole to secure her shared victory.

    2013-13 Awards

    All-Mountain West First Team

    Manon DeRoey, New Mexico

    Sammi Stevens, New Mexico

    Emma Henrikson, San Diego State

    Paige Spiranac, San Diego State

    Dana Finkelstein, UNLV

    All-Mountain West Second Team

    Hayley Young, Boise State

    Madchen Ly, Fresno State

    Christine Wong, San Diego State

    Charlotte Brooks, UNLV

    Demi Mak, UNLV

    Mayko Chwen Wang, UNLV

    Women's Golfer of the Year

    Dana Finkelstein, UNLV

    Women's Golf Freshman of the Year

    Emma Henrikson, San Diego State

    Women's Golf Coach of the Year

    Amy Bush, UNLV

    More Headlines