Alumni Game Set for Saturday at 10 a.m.

Aug. 23, 2007

FRESNO, Calif - Sara Stone was a player on the first ever Fresno State women's soccer team in 1995. Since finishing her playing days in 1999, she has taken pride in the recent success of coach Steve Springthorpe's teams, which includes winning the 2006 WAC regular season championship and the 2005 WAC tournament.

"It sounds like they are doing good things and getting good recruits," Stone said. "It is exciting as alumni to see your alma mater do well."

On Saturday, former players from the past 12 years will gather at Bulldog Stadium for an alumni game that is set to kick off at 10 a.m.

Fresno State's first women's soccer coach Peter Reynaud will be in attendance along with 20-25 former Bulldog players.

"It is good to get together as friends," Stone said. "It is a good opportunity to reunite and support the existing team and it is exciting to be back in the stadium."

Springthorpe is grateful that the program's former players are back in town to support his team prior to kick off of the 7 p.m. Cal-Poly game.

"This is a good opportunity to see past players and thank them for what they have done in helping building this program back in 1995," Fresno State coach Steve Springthorpe said. "This is a fun event for the parents and family. The event is pretty well-attended."

Prior to Saturday's game, their will be a barbeque to honor the former players. This is the final exhibition game for the Bulldogs. All tickets are $1. Fresno State opens the season on August 31 in Bulldog Stadium against UC Irvine.

"Join the State - Fresno State!" - Fresno State Soccer opens the season with an exhibition game this Saturday, August 25 against Cal Poly starting at 7 p.m. All tickets are just $1. Tickets are available at, by phone at 559-278-DOGS or in person at the Bulldog Ticket Office.



Players who have committed to play in the 2007 Alumni Game

Barbara Davis (2001-2006)
Jill Pearson (1997-2000)
Kristin Dunlap (1996-99)
Susan Daher (1995)
Cheryl Gano Kubota (1995-98)
Susan Shivokevich Negrete (1998-2002)
MaryTyler Wahl (1999-2002)
Katy Klawitter (2000-03)
Jessica Piesch (1998-2001)
Rochelle Jagdeo (2003-06)
Reyna Green (1998-99)
Lisa Esteves (2000-03)
Koleen Anderson (2001-05)
Kristyn Kellogg (2001-03)
Kortney Lewis (2002-05)
Lerin Mundell (2001-02)
Jennifer Johnstone (1996-99)
Kristi Nicholls (2000-01)
Angela Holder
Sara Yudin Stone (1995-99)
Erin Barry (1995-97)
Angela Holder

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format