Harris Tabbed to Academic All-District Softball Squad
Hannah Harris was one of three MW players that made up the 12-person squad and the only pitcher.
Hannah Harris was one of three MW players that made up the 12-person squad and the only pitcher.

May 2, 2014

FRESNO, Calif. - Sophomore softball pitcher Hannah Harris was rewarded for her excellence in the classroom and on the field with Capital One Academic All-District honors this week.

The Santa Barbara, Calif., native was one 12 players selected for the District 8 squad and one of three pitchers.

Harris sports a 3.44 cumulative GPA and is a media communications and advertising major. The MW Pitcher of the Week three weeks ago, she is 8-8 in the circle with a 2.65 ERA, and has started 17 of her 23 appearances.

Among this week's conference stats, she ranked top 10 in ERA (fourth), shutouts (fifth), opponent batting (seventh), fewest hits allowed (eighth) and starts (10th). On NCAA charts, she was also sighted in the shutouts category (134th, 3).

Two other conference student-athletes also received honors - San José State outfielder Michelle Cox and designated player Erin Rodriguez.

To be eligible, players must be at least a sophomore academically and be a starter or important reserve with at least a 3.30 cumulative GPA. Nominated student-athletes were then voted on by members of the College Sports Information Directors of America in their respective districts.

All district honorees are now in consideration for 2014 Capital One® Academic All-America honors that will be announced on May 30.

Harris is the second Bulldog honored under second-year head coach Trisha Ford after Diane Runge was selected in 2013, while senior shortstop Brooke Ortiz was chosen in 2012.

All-time in Fresno history, 34 players have been honored since 1985.

In action on the diamond this weekend, the MW-leading Bulldogs (28-18, 12-6) caps their home slate with another key series vs. Colorado State (30-13, 11-7).



With two, three-game series left on the season, Fresno State leads the MW with a 12-6 conference record by one game over CSU who stands in a three-way tie for second place with SDSU (34-15, 11-7) and Boise State (26-19, 11-7).

Friday's series opener is set for 6 p.m., while Saturday's 2 p.m. contest is Margie Wright Diamond Dedication Day. The Hall of Fame former head coach's first pitch is set for 1:57 p.m., and special commemorative towels will be available for fans that arrive early.

Sunday is Senior Day, and the `Dogs five-member senior class will honored just prior to the noon start.

*Fans should also note that Saturday's and Sunday's game are earlier than originally scheduled.

2014 District 8 Winners - NCAA Division I
Catcher, Amber Freeman - ARIZONA STATE, Jr., Lakewood, Calif., 3.43, Health Sciences Infield, Hanna Winter - STANFORD, Jr., Camarillo, Calif., 3.56, Computer Science
Infield, Meghan Harman - LOYOLA MARYMOUNT, Sr., Trabuco Canyon, Calif., 3.69, Health and Human Sciences
Infield, Kelsey Barak - GRAND CANYON, Jr., Fontana, Calif., 3.91, Exercise Science
Infield, Samantha Galarza - CS FULLERTON, So., Moreno Valley, Calif., 3.95, Communications & Journalism
Outfield, Bailey Wigness - ARIZONA STATE, Sr., Casa Grande, Ariz., 4.0, Political Sci, and Comm. (Double Major)
Outfield, Elizabeth Caporuscio - ARIZONA STATE, Jr., Lake Arrowhead, Calif., 3.38, Earth and Environmental Sciences
Outfield, Michelle Cox - SAN JOSE STATE, Jr., Sydney, Australia, 3.74, Business Administration - Accounting
Pitcher, Cheridan Hawkins - OREGON, OF, So., Anderson, Calif., 3.70, Family and human services
Pitcher, Hannah Harris - FRESNO STATE, So., Santa Barbara, Calif., 3.44, Media Communications & Advertising
Pitcher, Stephanie Pesqueira - GRAND CANYON, Sr., Tempe, Ariz., 3.42, Psychology
Designated Player - Erin Rodriguez, SAN JOSE STATE, So., Corona, Calif., 3.86, Child and Adolescent Development

1985 - Barbara Cambria, Rita Walker
1988 - Carie Dever
1990 - Terry Carpenter, Carie Dever
1991 - Terry Carpenter
1993 - Donna McDaniel, Christa Yorke
1995 - Robyn Yorke
1996 - Robyn Yorke
1997 - Lindsay Parker, Robyn Yorke
1998 - Jaime Maxey, Amanda Scott
1999 - Amanda Scott, Becky Witt
2000 - Amanda Scott, Becky Witt
2001 - Lindsay Fossatti, Becky Witt
2002 - Lindsay Fossatti, Tiffany Whipple
2003 - Mitzi Ing
2004 - Mitzi Ing, Jamie Southern
2005 - Jamie Southern
2007 - Haley Perkins, 2nd Team, Robin Mackin, 1st Team
2008 - Haley Perkins, 1st Team, Aja Scheuber, 1st Team
2009 - Haley Perkins, 2nd Team
2012 - Brooke Ortiz
2013 - Diane Runge
2014 - Hannah Harris

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format