Bulldogs Lead MW Volleyball with 12 Academic All-MW Honors
The 'Dogs have staked at least six Academic All-MW honors each season under sixth-year head coach Lauren Netherby-Sewell.

The 'Dogs have staked at least six Academic All-MW honors each season under sixth-year head coach Lauren Netherby-Sewell.

Jan. 30, 2014

Fall 2013 Academic All-MW List (All Sports) Get Acrobat Reader

By Geoff Thurner
- www.GoBulldogs.com -

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Fresno State volleyball team continued its string of academic success by racking up 12 Academic All-MW honors in the annual announcement by the conference office.

All seven of the Bulldogs' starters were honored Thursday, including the senior trio of All-MW outside hitters Marissa Brand and Korrin Wild and MW Newcomer of the Year and right side hitter Holly Franks.

Other Fresno State volleyball honorees included seniors Lauren Albertson, juniors Christina Lee, Jaimee-Lee Morrow, Maci Murdock and Katie Pearson, sophomores Zana Bowens and Molly Pearson, and freshmen Maggie Eppright and Brooke Legaux.

Among those with multiple career honors, two `Dogs enjoyed their fourth awards (Brand, Wild). Similarly, Albertson claimed her third straight distinction, and other repeat honors went to Bowens, Lee, Morrow, and Katie and Molly Pearson.

For comparison's sake, breakdowns for honors won by other MW volleyball teams follows: Wyoming (11), Colorado State (9), Nevada (9), New Mexico (9), San Jose State (8), San Diego State (7), UNLV (7), Utah State (7), Boise State (5) and Air Force (2).

Among all fall sports included Thursday's announcement, 52 combined Bulldogs were recognized from football (20), soccer (12), men's cross county (3) and women's cross country (5) teams.

To be eligible, student athletes must have completed at least one academic semester/quarter at the member institution, own a cumulative GPA at the member institution of 3.0 or better, and have competed in 50 percent of the team's varsity contests this past fall.

2013 Fresno State Academic All-MW Volleyball Honors
Lauren Albertson, Gr., Sports, Adminstration
Zana Bowens - So., Sports Adminstration
Marissa Brand - Sr., Psychology
Maggie Eppright, Freshman, Interior Design
Holly Franks - Sr., Philosophy
Christina Lee - Jr., Exercise Science
Brooke Legaux, Fr., Undeclared
Jaimee-Lee Morrow - Jr., Exercise Science
Maci Murdock - Jr., Liberal Studies
Katie Pearson - Jr., Psychology
Molly Pearson - RSo., Liberal Studies
Korrin Wild - Sr., Recreation Adminstration

The volleyball squad's recent success added to an already-crowded list of academic laurels in sixth-year head coach Lauren Netherby-Sewell's tenure. Her squad has now claimed at least six honors each of her years at the helm, including nine in 2010-11 and 2012-13, seven in 2011-12 and six in 2008-09 and 2009-10.

Team-wise, the squad has claimed four straight AVCA Team Academic Awards for its combined +3.30 cumulative GPA for the 2009-10, 2010-11, 2011-12 and 2012-13 academic years.

On the court this past fall, the squad was equally successful with a fourth-place finish in the MW - tying its best placing since 2004. Similarly, its 17-15 overall mark cemented its second straight winning season for the first time since 2003-04 after the team went 18-13 in 2012.

Recent Fresno State Volleyball Academic All-Conference Honors

WAC All-Academic
1992-93 (1) Suzie Regul
1993-94 (1) Brenda Gregersen
1994-95 (2) Tera Booker, Amy Cheli
1995-96 (2) Tera Booker, Amy Cheli
1996-97 (1) Amy Cheli
1997-98 (2) Sarah Goodlaw, Barbie Wiborg
1998-99 (5) Anamie Buckelew, Kara McKeown, Adrienne Sankey, Leilua Satele, Tami Thoreson
1999-00 (1) Leilua Satele
2000-01 (3) Heather Farr, Shauna McQuaid, Leilua Satele
2001-02 (2) Heather Farr, Kara Verwey
2002-03 (3) Tina Brennan, Heather Farr, Stefanie Taelman
2003-04 (5) Tina Brennan, La'akea Campbell, Robyn Keune, Briana Rempel, Stefanie Taelman
2004-05 (4) Robyn Keune, Jessica Peterson, Alison Pitton, Briana Rempel
2005-06 (5) Cassie Gilford, Robyn Keune, Alisha McKee, Alison Pitton, Briana Rempel
2006-07 (6) Tiffany Hess, Alisha McKee, Alison Pitton, Nicole Sandino, Cheryl Selenak, Angela Wiggins
2007-08 (5) Lisa Gera, Tiffany Hess, Kelly Leonardo, Alisha McKee, Angela Wiggins
2008-09 (6) Lisa Gera, Kelly Leonardo, Kelly Mason, Meghan Moss, Allanah Munson, Kasey Van Grouw
2009-10 (6) Lisa Gera, Kelly Leonardo, Kelly Mason, Meghan Moss, Allanah Munson, Kasey Van Grouw
2010-11 (9) Cecilia Agraz, Marissa Brand, Brianna Clarke, Taylor Horton, Kelly Mason, Kelli Parker, Erin Stock, Kasey Van Grouw, Korrin Wild
2011-12 (7) Cecilia Agraz, Lauren Albertson, Barbara Alcantara, Alysia Baker, Brianna Clarke, Kristen Sciacca, Korrin Wild

Academic All-MW
2012-13 (9) Cecilia Agraz, Lauren Albertson, Zana Bowens, Marissa Brand, Christina Lee, Jaimee-Lee Morrow, Katie Pearson, Molly Pearson, Korrin Wild
2013-14 (12) Lauren Albertson, Zana Bowens, Marissa Brand, Maggie Eppright, Holly Franks, Christina Lee, Brooke Legaux, Jaimee-Lee Morrow, Maci Murdock, Katie Pearson, Molly Pearson, Korrin Wild

CATCH THE WAVE - Follow the 'Dogs on Twitter at @FresnoStateVB.



 Email this article   Printer-friendly format