Brand Honored With Third Academic All-District Nod
    Marissa Brand is also one of the most soccessful 'Dogs on the court, too, and ranks seventh career-wise for Fresno State in kills (1,212).
    Marissa Brand is also one of the most soccessful 'Dogs on the court, too, and ranks seventh career-wise for Fresno State in kills (1,212).

    Nov. 7, 2013

    By Geoff Thurner

    FRESNO, Calif. - Fresno State redshirt senior Marissa Brand was rewarded for her hard work in the classroom Thursday with her third straight CoSIDA Academic All-District honor.

    The outside hitter from Cypress, Calif., was one of seven volleyball players named to the District 16 squad with Kristina Graven (St. Mary's), Rebecca Kopilovitch (San Francisco), Natalie Hagglund (USC), Kat Schulz (Pacific), Tayla Woods (Oregon State) and Madeline Westman (UNLV).

    A criminology major focusing on forensic science and a psychology minor, Brand sports a 3.92 cumulative GPA and was a First-Team selection in 2012 and Second-Team choice in 2011.

    Besides Brand and Westman, a third MW player received similar honors - Ayesha Hein of Air Force - on the District 15 squad.

    Brand and the Academic All-District Team was chosen by a vote of college sports information directors. Nominees must sport a 3.30 minimum cumulative grade point average, be at least a sophomore returnee at her school, and be a starter or important reserve (and played at least 50 percent of their team's contests).

    On the court, Brand ranks top-three for the team in kills (second, 3.06 p/s) and points (third, 3.44 p/s) this season. In the MW, she also stands ninth in kills, while her 3.96 average in MW-only matches ranks second-best in the league.

    The former All-WAC choice Brand has led the team in kills in six matches; four times in points; three times in hitting; and twice in aces and digs. She has three, 20-kill matches vs. San Jose State (22), American (21) and Air Force (20) among her 13 double-digit kill efforts the last 14 matches (including seven double-doubles).

    Looking ahead, Brand is now eligible for Capital One Academic All-America honors that will be announced in mid-December, and hopes to join former teammate Cecilia Agraz who became the Bulldogs' first Academic All-American in 2011 and was a three-time Academic All-District choice.



    More information on Academic All-District and Academic All-America honors is available at the website at the and URL addresses.

    Looking ahead, the `Dogs (15-10, 9-4) next host San Diego State (12-11, 7-6) on Saturday, Nov. 9 at noon - an hour earlier than originally scheduled.

    Promotions-wise, Saturday's contest is White Out Day, and all Bulldog fans are encouraged to wear white, while the first 200 fans will get a FREE `Our State' shirt.

    2013 CoSIDA Academic All-District Honorees

    District 8 - FIRST TEAM
    Aleksandra Wachowicz, ST. JOHN'S (NY)
    Annika Foit, LIU BROOKLYN
    Lindsay McCabe, SYRACUSE
    Hayley Moyer, FAIRFIELD
    Cassidy Croci, NEW HAMPSHIRE
    Brooke Zywick, MARIST
    Taylor Cembalisty, IONA
    McHaney Carter, YALE
    Kathryn Conner, BROWN
    Taylor Akana, SIENA

    District 9 - FIRST TEAM
    Erin Fortner, U.S. NAVAL ACADEMY
    Elizabeth Gulick, WEST VIRGINIA
    Laura Der, MARSHALL
    Laura Reinhart, SAINT PETER'S
    Jessi Greenberg, KENTUCKY

    District 11 - FIRST TEAM
    Emma Deininger, RADFORD
    Brieanna Merriwether, N.C. STATE
    Becca Haraf, LIBERTY
    Ali McCurdy, DUKE
    Heather Feldman, GARDNER-WEBB
    Lauren Ford, LIPSCOMB

    District 12 - FIRST TEAM
    Courtney Cohen, TROY
    Christina Dorismond, FURMAN
    Chelsea Wintzinger, AUBURN
    Lauren Alejo, COASTAL CAROLINA
    Brooke Beasley, ALABAMA STATE
    Lauren Teknipp, GEORGIA
    Camila Jersonsky, AUBURN
    Sierra Wilson, ALABAMA

    District 14 - FIRST TEAM
    Shelby Kintzel, NORTHERN IOWA
    Lauren Clarke, NORTH DAKOTA
    Kaitlyn Hastings, SOUTH DAKOTA
    Kaitlin Jaeger, MISSOURI STATE
    Veronica Munkeby, NORTH DAKOTA
    Elizabeth Koberstein, MARQUETTE
    Macy Ubben, NORTHERN IOWA

    District 15 - FIRST TEAM
    Ayesha Hein, U.S. AIR FORCE ACADEMY
    Bailey Webster, TEXAS
    Hannah Allison, TEXAS
    Sallie McLaurin, OKLAHOMA
    Lena Skipper, NEW MEXICO

    Brooke Bray, MONTANA
    Sara McClinton, KANSAS
    Erin McNorton, KANSAS
    Xitlali Herrera, TEXAS-EL PASO
    Morgan Broekhuis, NEBRASKA
    Megan Schwartz, LAMAR

    District 16 - FIRST TEAM
    Kristina Graven, SAINT MARY'S (CA)
    Marissa Brand, FRESNO STATE
    Rebecca Kopilovitch, SAN FRANCISCO
    Natalie Hagglund, SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA
    Kat Schulz, PACIFIC
    Tayla Woods, OREGON STATE
    Madeline Westman, UNLV

    - -

    More Headlines