Rasmussen, McKee Earn All-WAC Honors
    Freshman Tairyn Rasmussen earned WAC All-Freshman honors.
    Freshman Tairyn Rasmussen earned WAC All-Freshman honors.

    Nov. 14, 2007

    LAS CRUCES, N.M. - For the fourth-consecutive season, a Fresno State volleyball player has been named to the Western Athletic Conference All-Freshman team as outside hitter Tairyn Rasmussen was selected by the coaches and announced as one of six freshmen on the team at the WAC banquet Wednesday night in Las Cruces, N.M.

    Senior outside hitter Alisha McKee was named to the second team All-Conference, the first such honor for the Bulldogs in two years.

    Mckee (Goodland, Kans.) was consistently ranked in the top 10 in kills per game all season in the WAC. She currently ranks 10th all-time in Fresno State history with 2,470 attempts.

    Rasmussen (Escondido, Calif.) was third amongst freshmen in the conference with 89 kills in conference matches and led the freshmen with 2.54 kills per game.

    Player of the Year went to junior Jamie Houston from Hawai'i. Chelsea Fowles, a setter from Utah State, was named Freshman of the Year, and the Aggies head coach Grayson DuBose was named Coach of the Year.


    Colleen Burke San Jose State

    Aneli Cubi-Ontineru Hawai'i

    Teal Ericson Nevada

    Jamie Houston Hawai'i

    Amanda Nielson Utah State

    Haley Larsen Idaho

    Kim Oguh NMSU

    Juliana Sanders Hawai'i

    Amber Simpson NMSU

    Karly Sipherd Nevada

    Krystal Torres NMSU

    Lindsey Yon NMSU


    Krista Altermatt NMSU

    Keri Anglin San Jose State

    Stephanie Brandt Hawai'i

    Niki Clement San Jose State

    Tara Hittle Hawai'i

    Sarah Loney Idaho

    Ashley Miller Nevada

    Melissa Osterloh Utah State

    Alisha McKee Fresno State

    Shannon Philips La. Tech

    Jennifer Senftleben San Jose State

    Danielle Taylor Utah State


    Lindsay Baldwin Nevada

    Emily Burke San Jose State

    Chelsea Fowles Utah State



    Elizabeth Ka'aihue Hawai'i

    Brynja Rodgers NMSU

    Tairyn Rasmussen Fresno State

    WAC Player of the Year: Jamie Houston

    WAC Coach of the Year: Grayson DuBose

    WAC Freshman of the Year: Chelsea Fowles

    "Join the State - Fresno State!" - The Bulldogs will take on No. 13 New Mexico State in the first round of the WAC Volleyball Tournament which begins on Thursday, November 15 in Las Cruces, New Mexico and concludes with the championship game on Saturday, November 17. Follow all the action at www.gobulldogs.com.

    More Headlines