Senior Bulldog Trio Reap MW Volleyball Honors
Seniors Korrin Wild & Marissa Brand give the 'Dogs 17 multiple all-league honorees in school history.
Seniors Korrin Wild & Marissa Brand give the 'Dogs 17 multiple all-league honorees in school history.

Dec. 3, 2013

By Geoff Thurner

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - After helping the `Dogs polish off one of their best seasons in recent memory, senior outside hitters Marissa Brand and Korrin Wild picked up MW All-Conference Volleyball honors Tuesday, while senior right side hitter Holly Franks became the program's first MW Newcomer of the Year recipient.

The duo of Brand and Wild were tabbed to the 17-person MW All-Conference Team selected by conference head coaches, and made the `Dogs one of four teams in the 11-team league that sported multiple selections.

In prior years, Wild and Brand received All-WAC Second-Team honorees in 2011 and 2010, respectively, while Franks received her first league-based laurel after playing the 2009, '10 and '11 seasons for Cal Poly.

Tuesday's honors raised head coach Lauren Netherby-Sewell's total of all-league honors to eight since 2009 and 56 overall for the program since its first selection in 1979.

The Kingsburg, Calif., native Wild ranked second in the MW Conference and 63rd and 75th nationally in kills and points (3.77 / 4.24 per set), and seventh in the league in aces (0.29 p/s). In 2013, she logged eight +.300 totals, 11 double-doubles, and five 20-kill totals among her 24 double-digit kill efforts. The preseason all-conference selection was also named to all-tournament teams in the Fresno State Classic and Portland Nike Invitational.

With starts the last 23 matches of the season, the Cypress, Calif., native Brand ranked top 10 in MW rankings in kills (eighth, 3.17 p/s) and points (10th, 3.50 p/s), and third in MW-only matches in kills (3.78 p/s) and points (4.18 p/s). She had three, 20-kill matches (and another 19-kill effort), nine double-doubles and five +.400 totals among her 13 +.300 marks. Early in the season, she was also tabbed to the UC Irvine All-Tournament Team.



Career-wise, Brand ranked top 10 on Bulldog career lists in kills (fourth, 1,310), sets played (fifth, 441), matches played (eighth, 123) and digs (eighth, 997), and Wild held similar honors in career categories for aces (third, 136), aces per set (third, 0.31 p/s), digs (fifth, 1,203) and kills (sixth, 1,256).

Franks ranked third in the MW in aces (0.31 p/s) and 168th nationally this week, and also ninth in the MW in points (3.52 p/s). The Tollhouse, Calif., native posted eight double-doubles and seven +.300 totals this year, 10 matches with multiple aces, and six matches with +5 blocks. An all-conference choice in three tourneys in 2013, she was also tabbed the UC Irvine Tournament MVP in September.

Other top MW individual honors Tuesday went to Colorado State's Tom Hilbert (Coach of the Year), senior middle blocker Samantha Peters (Player of the Year) and junior Deedra Foss (Setter of the Year), Wyoming senior Becky Stewart (Libero of the Year), and New Mexico outside hitter Julia Warren (Freshman of the Year).

Last week, the `Dogs capped their sixth season under Netherby-Sewell with a 17-15 overall mark for its second straight winning season for the first time since 2003-04. The squad also tied for fourth place in the MW with an 11-9 mark - two places better than its preseason coaches poll selection.

Adrianna Culbert, Colorado State, So., OPP, Delton, Mich.
Samantha Peters, Colorado State, Sr., MB, Englewood, Colo.
Kelsey Snider, Colorado State, Jr., MB, Arvada, Colo.
Marissa Brand Fresno State, Sr., OH, Cypress, Calif.
Korrin Wild, Fresno State, Sr., OH, Kingsburg, Calif.
Hannah Johnson, New Mexico, So., S, Longview, Wash.
Miquella Lovato^, New Mexico, Sr., L, Pojoaque, N.M.
Chantale Riddle^, New Mexico, Jr., RS Roswell, N.M.
Julia Warren, New Mexico Fr., OH, Albuquerque, N.M.
Raegan Shelton#^, San Diego State, Sr., OH, Amarillo, Texas
Hanah Blume, San José State, Sr., OH, Columbia, Calif.
Sekola Falemaka, UNLV, Sr., OH, Grantsville, Utah
Elle Brainard, Utah State, So., OPP, Saratoga Springs, Utah
Erin Kirby#^, Wyoming, Jr., MB, Evanston, Wyo.

Setter of the Year: Deedra Foss^, CSU, Jr. S McKenna, Wash.
Libero of the Year: Becky Stewart^, Wyoming Sr. L Parker, Colo.
Player of the Year: Samantha Peters, Sr., MB, Colorado State
Freshman of the Year: Julia Warren, Fr., OH, New Mexico
Newcomer of the Year: Holly Franks, Sr.-TR, RS, Fresno State
Coach of the Year: Tom Hilbert, Colorado State

# = 2011 honoree; ^ = 2012 honoree

Marissa Brand, 2013 MW First Team
Korrin Wild, 2013 MW First Team
Barbara Alcantara, 2012 MW First Team
Brianna Clark, 2011 WAC First Team
Korrin Wild, 2011 WAC Second Team
Marissa Brand, 2010 WAC Second Team
Brianna Clarke, 2010 WAC Second Team
Brianna Clarke, 2009 WAC Second Team
Alisha McKee, 2007 WAC Second Team
Alison Pitton, 2005 WAC Second Team
Tiffany Bishop, 2004 WAC Second Team
Tuli Peters, 2004 WAC Second Team
Christianna Reneau, 2004 WAC Second Team
Tiffany Bishop, 2003 WAC Second Team
Kristen Fenton, 2003 WAC First Team
Carrie Hartt, 2003 WAC First Team
Robyn Keune, 2003 WAC Second Team
Whitney Arena, 2002 WAC First Team
Christy Burnett, 2002 WAC Second Team
Kristen Fenton, 2002 WAC First Team
Carrie Hartt, 2002 WAC First Team
Java Johnson, 2002 WAC First Team
Whitney Arena, 2001 WAC Second Team
Christy Burnett, 2001 WAC Second Team
Shauna McQuaid, 2001 WAC First Team
Anamie Buckelew, 1999 WAC First Team
Diann Aufdermaur, 1999 WAC Second Team
Adrienne Sankey, 1999 WAC Second Team
Leilua Satele, 1999 WAC Second Team
Shanus Bennett, 1998 WAC Second Team
Diana Nalbandian, 1997 WAC First Team
Shanus Bennett, 1997 WAC Second Team
Tricia Tuley, 1995 WAC First Team
Tera Booker, 1995 WAC Second Team
Tricia Tuley, 1994 WAC Second Team
Nicole Chen, 1993 WAC Second Team
Brenda Gregersen, 1992 All-WAC
Paola Paz-Soldan, 1992 WAC Second Team
Andrea Radmilovich, 1992 WAC Second Team
Suzie Regul, 1992 WAC First Team
Suzie Regul, 1991 Big West Honorable Mention
Paola Paz-Soldan, 1991 Big West First Team
Andrea Radmilovich, 1990 Big West Honorable Mention
Lesli Lopes, 1989 Big West Honorable Mention
Traci Sliester, 1988 Big West Second Team
Lynette Wilke, 1988 Big West Honorable Mention
Lynette Wilke, 1987 PCAA Honorable Mention
Barbie Snyder, 1985 NorPac Second Team
Barbie Snyder, 1984 NorPac Second Team
Ruth Lawanson, 1984 NorPac First Team (Co-MVP)
Ruth Lawanson, 1983 NorPac Second Team
Kim Eisenhardt, 1981 NorCal First Team
Tina Palepale, 1981 NorCal Second Team
Sandi Piearcy, 1980 NorCal First Team
Micki Horn, 1979 NorCal First Team
Sandi Piearcy, 1979 NorCal Second Team

Holly Franks, 2013 (MW)

Lacey Gera, 2006 (WAC)
Brenda Gregersen, 1992 (WAC)
Paola Paz-Soldan, 1991 (Big West)

- -

 Email this article   Printer-friendly format